Notes on the
Building Construction History
of Americus, GA
Local Newspapers and Land Records
compiled by Alan Anderson
June 4,1856 Dr. A.D. Bruce's house nears completion, NW corner Hampton and Lamar Sept 16,1865 S.S. Boone "laying...foundation" for 2-story brick building, NW corner public square; W.T. Davenport adding to his store; Mr. Cohen "just completed... commodious store room...site of his old place of business" Nov. 10,1866 "brick portion of a three-story building, intended for business purposes, has just been completed" Apr. 14,1866 "block of brick buildings will...be erected during the summer on Cotton...where...extensive Warehouse of John V. Price formerly stood" Oct. 9,1866 "FOR SALE - A House and Lot in the town of Americus, situated near the Female College...contains four rooms...two acres of ground...S. COHEN." Oct. 11,1866 F.M. Coker advertised house with large lot near Square, also store house on Cotton "is new" Nov. 6,1866 W.H. Turpin Estate sale: plantation on Lumpkin Rd., 5 miles west of Americus, 430 acres, double log house, also large 8-room, 2-story frame on Church "known as...residence of... deceased" (southeast corner Church and Jackson), also house and lot adjoining on east "at present occupied by Mr. Martin," also 1-story residence "on street leading to...College," nearly 1 acre, "known as...place occupied by Prof. E.W. Erdman," also house and lot next south of B.W. Smith’s residence, 4 rooms, nearly 1 acre, "known as the Bailey lot," also house and lot next south "and adjoining...residence of Dr. J. Tomlinson" Nov. 17,1866 "opening a street through from...street running past the Methodist parsonage to College street" (Barlow between College and Taylor); M.H. Stephens advertised 6-room house "in front of Furlow Female College" on a high healthy locality," 12 or 13 acres under fence "adjoining...residence of Col. J.V. Price" Jan. 15,1867 Rev. G.H. Coit advertised his 5-room house, 4 acres, "bounded on three sides by public streets" (NW corner Jefferson and Lee) Jan. 22,1867 Dr. B.J. Head advertised his 7-room house on Church, with smoke house, carriage house, 2 servant houses on lot Jan. 29,1867 "block of brick stores, both...Loyless & Hotel building, now being finished...Hotel will be completed in...course of six weeks" Feb. 7,1867 "large three story brick building, by Messrs. Toole, Schumpert & Co....will be 127 feet, fronting Cotton ..., and running back on Lamar..., 61 feet...upper story is intended for a City Hall" (destroyed by fire Apr. 11,1878) June 18,1867 "on the lot opposite the store of Messrs. Adams, Speer & Co., where Messrs. Kendrick & Byrd expect to erect a very substantial building" (NW corner Jackson and Lamar) July 6,1867 "CITY IMPROVEMENTS...since...termination of hostilities, there has been erected within...corporate limits of Americus, 25 substantial buildings for...Anglo-Saxons, besides numerous lumber ones for Freedmen...twenty-two brick store houses and fifteen wooden ones...large brick hotel, one or two school houses and a number of offices... there are going up at this time, two large brick houses, one by Messrs. SCHUMPERT, TOOLE, & CO.,...other by Messrs. KENDRICK & BYRD, which will be completed in time to commence...Fall business..." July 30,1867 "work on...brick buildings of Mr. R.T. Byrd and Mrs. Wright, is rapidly going on...Messrs. Toole, Schumpert & Co., will soon commence work on their brick building at ...head of Cotton Avenue." Oct. 5,1868 "FIRE - About 4 o’clock, Wednesday morning last, ...residence of Mr. P.R. STANFIELD, of this city, was entirely consumed by fire..." Nov. 12,1868 "FIRE - About 9 o’clock Wednesday morning last... a cloud of smoke was seen issuing from...building on... East side of...Square, in which Mrs. M.T. ELAM resides..." Dec. 24,1868 "desirable residence, on Gibson (Elm)...in this city, now occupied by James A. Fort, is offered for sale...contains five large comfortable rooms...two acre lot...ten acre lot adjoining" June 17,1870 "another fine brick store will soon be commenced on ...South side of...Public Square, next to...Hawkins Block, to be finished in time for...fall" Oct. 21,1870 Col. W.A. Maxwell's mansion on Taylor destroyed by fire, Miss Sallie Maxwell jumped 30 ft from second story Nov. 4,1870 "BARGAIN OFFERED - We offer for sale Col. W.J. Patterson's...premises in Americus. Dwelling has seven rooms, seven or eight out houses, framed buildings, twenty-five acres of land...HAWKINS & GUERRY, Attorneys." Nov. 11,1870 "subscriber (Dr. W.W. Barlow) offers for sale...house and lot in...Southern part of...city, near...Female College, occupied by Col. A.S. Cutts..."; "I will sell my House, con- taining seven large rooms, and lot containing six acres... P.H. OLIVER." Jan. 6,1871 Dr. J.B. Hinkle bought "Foster Place" (NW corner Horne and Taylor) and Dr. W.A. Greene bought "Cobb Place" (NE corner College and Lee) Mar. 24,1871 "FOR RENT! ...house and lot formerly occupied by Maj. M.H. Stephens, or...new house belonging to...under- signed on College Hill...MRS. C.A. WRIGHT." Mar. 8,1872 M.R. Stansell selling his residence "built last year"; Capt. C.W. Felder's on Felder destroyed by fire Mar. 4th Mar. 22,1872 "block of brick buildings going up on Price (W. For- syth) S.S. Boone, Dr. W.W. Barlow and...Hamil Bros. have united their lots", 100 ft front, 65 ft back, 3 stores each 25 ft front, "opposite...Warehouse of Messrs. Harrold, Johnson & Co....in full view, and a short distance from...Warehouse of J.V. Price & Son...work has been let out to Messrs. Hamil, and J.M. Broadfield." May 24,1872 Hamil Bros. building brick store on Cotton for N.A. Windsor, 70 x 50 ft; Dr. J.B. Hinkle's 2-story on Taylor destroyed by fire July 19,1872 First National Bank of Americus "has purchased new building recently erected by Judge Boone, in front of Montgomery & Shaw's" Aug. 30,1872 street opened "from residence of W.W. Palmer to Thos. Greene, Esq." (E. College between Barlow and Lee) Jan. 24,1873 new street to be opened from cemetery to A.R. Brown's residence, J.B. Hinkle and Pem West donating right of way Mar. 7,1873 house and lot "west of S.H. Hawkins residence, now occupied by W.A. Greene" Mar. 14,1873 "I.N. Hart is having erected a two story brick buil- ding running 80 feet back by 30 feet front, on...lot where he has been doing business for several years" Mar. 21,1873 "brick work of Hart's new store house is progressing rapidly under management of...Hamil Bros." Apr. 25,1873 razing of house "located between old hotel...and Hawkins block" May 2,1873 house and lot where "Mrs. C.A. Wright and her hus- band now reside being a new house, and adjoining lot of Henry C. Hardy"; "brick store room...west side Cotton..., adjoining Waxelbaum building...property of F.M. Coker"; house and lot "west side Starkville street south of M.R. Stansell's...property of C.J. Malone" June 27,1873 "Messrs. Hamil Bros....are pushing forward brick work on Montgomery & Shaw's new building on Price... (now W. Forsyth). The foundation has been laid... Mr. Charlie Wheatley...has the wood work" July 4,1873 house and lot "bounded...north by the residence of Dr. Byrd, and...south by Church..., and known as residence of Mrs. M.E. Byrd"; "One house and lot, situated on hill near colored City Hall...property of Simon Hall"; "One house and lot, situated near M.E. Church, now in possession of J.A. Ansley... property of Mrs. Peeples"; "One house and lot situ- ated on Church...property of Mrs. N.B. Oliver" Aug. 22,1873 fire on roof of Hodijah Elam's "whose residence is opposite" Dr. S.B. Hawkins' Sept 5,1873 house and lot "on north side of Church... and on corner of said street and Sullivan..., now occupied by R.A. Tiner, and formerly occupied by R.A. Miller containing three fourths of an acre"; "Messrs. Montgomery & Shaw...just completed" Dec. 5,1873 house and lot "formerly occupied by G.W. Thomas, and now occupied by E. Taylor" Jan. 16,1874 house and lot, 10 acres, "late residence of James P. West, lying north of Cemetery on Danville road" July 3,1874 house and lot "late residence of James P. West... bounded...South by Danville road and cemetery, east by street running from old brick yard of Cobb & Allen to Mrs. Daniel's,...north by Daniel's lot, west by James Ellis and others, containing eleven acres" July 10,1874 "Messrs. Schumpert, Pickett & King are making ar- rangements to build...at...head of Cotton" July 24,1874 "walls of...brick building of Messrs. Schumpert, Pickett & King, is progressing rapidly" Aug. 7,1874 "walls of...Schumpert, Pickett & King are nearly up ...thirty-seven by one hundred feet" Jan. 8,1875 "Messrs. Fort & McCleskey...are now occupying...up- per story of...Schumpert, Pickett & King" Feb. 12,1875 "TO RENT For year 1875, house and lot in city of Americus formerly occupied by Col. T.M. Furlow. Apply to Moses Speer, Cashier Americus Bank, or undersigned. J.W. FURLOW." Mar. 5,1875 house and lot "known as Bartlett place" part of Lot 174 "late residence of Col. C.T. Goode", 15 acres May 14,1875 "house on Lamar..., known as "Ruby Bar and Restaur- ant", has been demolished to make room for two-story brick structure. We understand that Mr. Chapman designs using upper story as a hotel, on European plan." May 28,1875 "old hotel building (SE corner Jackson and Lamar) is fast being demolished, and one of our town's old- est landmarks will soon be no more." June 4,1875 "Hamil Bros. are making fair progress on Chapman's new building. It is to be completed next month."; lot occupied by Rev. A.B. Campbell bounded south by Taylor, north by Mrs. M.B. Brown's, west by cross street, east by lot occupied by C.F. Crisp June 11,1875 "brick work on Mr. Chapman's new building is about finished." June 25,1875 "A new brick store will shortly be erected on vacant lot adjoining store of R.C. Black on Lamar." July 2,1875 "contract for building a jail for county has been awarded Mr. C.M. Wheatley, who is now making arrange- ments to commence work at once...lot fronting Mrs. McRee's residence, on Forsyth...has been selected as location for building." July 9,1875 "Bugg Chapman's new building is about finished. He expects to move into his fine quarters this week." Oct. 8,1875 T.E. Smith's house and lot north side Town Creek, east side Southwestern RR, near city limits Nov. 5,1875 James P. Walker place, west side Elm, 20 acres on both sides Mar. 10,1876 house and lot occupied by George Turpin, SE corner Church and Jackson, Mrs. R.A. Bloodsworth's proper- ty; house and lot, owned and occupied by S. Cohen, NW corner Church and Forrest; house and lot occu- pied by Peter Croghan, owned by Peter Croghan, Sr., NE corner Church and Jackson; house and lot on Lee, "known as the place of J.W. Jordan, Jr., now occu- pied by M.W. Jones", bounded north by John J. Hudson's, east by J.W. Rowland's, south by C.T. Furlow's, west by Lee; house and lot, W.I. Murray agent for wife, SW corner College and Smith (now Elm); house and lot, Mrs. N.B. Oliver's, bounded north by Church, east by S.W. Blance's, west by B.F. Bell's; house and lot on Rock Hill, "known as the late residence of P.H. Oliver, deceased", Mrs. H.E. Oliver's, bounded north by Dr. M.G. Brady, east by Strife, south by E.H. Brown's; store house occupied by Louis Cohen, west side public square, bounded north by T. Wheatley, south by J. Greenwood, "property of Mrs. J.M. Prichart, dec."; house and lot, D.P. Pugh's, bounded north by Church, east by E. Taylor's, west by H. Elam's; house and lot, owned and occupied by Mrs. Easom Smith, bounded north by Dr. Rees', east by Lee, south by Mrs. Finn's, west by James Simmons'; house and lot, Augustus Shepherd agent for wife, bounded north by Donlevy and Tim Murphy, east by Tim Murphy, south by Church, west by L.W. Bosworth; house and lot, "now occupied and owned by Dr. T.E. Smith in the northern part of the city", bounded north and east by Town Creek, west by SWRR; brick store, corner Cotton and Forsyth, "now occupied by A.J. Buchanan and Bro. as a gro- cery store below and Sumter Republican printing office upstairs", W.D. Stewart's; brick store, "now occupied by R.C. Black as a shoe store, and Mrs. M.E. Raines as a millinery store", bounded north by Lamar, east by S.M. Cohen, west by W.A. Hawkins' vacant lot, "property of W.D. Stewart, Guardian for the minor heirs of J.R. Stewart, deceased"; T.H. Stewart's vacant lot, SE corner Jackson and Lamar, "known as the old hotel lot", bounded east by S.H. Hawkins' vacant lot, south by Robert Hodges Mar. 31,1876 "Presbyterian Church...purchased...parsonage...on College...opposite...Mr. Thomas Harrold...formerly occupied by Dr. Wm. A. Greene" Apr. 14,1876 "new and attractive residence of Capt. C.F. Crisp on Jackson (sic)...is nearing completion" Aug. 25,1876 C.M. Wheatley establishes Variety Works Mar. 30,1877 Wm. Mims adds to his store "corner of Starkville and Church", recently established Sept 14,1877 R.C. Black moves to N. Emanuel's old stand opposite Granberry & Barlow; D.B. Hill buys S. Anthony & Son stock, joined by Levi Tower Sept 21,1877 "Mr. James Harper is putting up a neat and tasty residence on Church street." Nov. 2,1877 J.R. Simmons house and lot "between J.W. Sheffield and Wm. Dudley's" on Lamar Nov. 9,1877 "lot on which old jail stands, together with... building...knocked off to Messrs. J.W. Sheffield & Co. for $405." Feb. 1,1878 Mrs. Cotney's house and lot bounded north by Felder, east by Rees Park, south by Ann E. Rylander, west by W.A. Maxwell; Mrs. Turner's on Lee, bounded north by James Stewart's, east by Elbert Head, south by Jef- ferson, west by Lee Mar. 1,1878 Mrs. Moody's on Jackson, bounded east by Dr. E.J. Eldridge, south by Mrs. Brewer's, north by C.M. Wheatley, west by Jackson Apr. 5,1878 "Coit place", bounded north by Brooks Bosworth, east by Lee, south by Jefferson May 31,1878 "Work on new warehouse will be commenced in a few days." June 14,1878 new warehouse to be done by Aug. 10, fronting Lamar 60 x 70 ft July 2,1878 James Fricker's antebellum home, NE corner Church and Hampton, destroyed by fire July 5,1878 Capt. E. Taylor's, bounded north by Lamar, east by Merrell Callaway's, south by Ed Littleton's, west by street between Taylor's and Dr. S.S. Bird's; "Workmen...preparatory for building on corner lot opposite Waxelbaum & Co." Aug. 23,1878 L.C. Barrett's six houses "in western portion of city" Oct. 1878 completion of Harrold, Johnson & Co., corner Cotton and Forsyth, 60 x 150 ft, 2 large floors cut off on Forsyth side Oct. 11,1878 house and lot, "recently occupied by B.J. Head", 3/4 acre, bounded north by Jefferson, east by G.C. Cameron's, south by "lot formerly occupied by Dr. H.C. Bailey", west by Troup; house and lot, "occu- pied by J.S. Weaver", 2 acres, bounded north by A.J. Hamil's, east by "lands formerly belonging to H.K. McCay", south by Mrs. J.T. Turner's, west by Troup; 1-story brick store, "formerly occupied by Harrold, Johnson & Co. as scales room, now occupied by Tom Mitchell", bounded north by Forsyth, east by Hamil Bros., west by "stairway and lot on which same is situated"; 2-story brick building, corner of Cotton and Forsyth, "occupied by M. Weschler & Co., Geo. Stapleton and S. Fleishman"; 2-story brick store, "immediately south of last described", on Cotton, "occupied by H.C. Hyatt and W.T.A. Dunn"; 2-story brick store, "occupied by T.M. Eden and P.F. Brown", bounded north by Lamar, east by D.S. Bagley's store, west by vacant lot; vacant lot, north side Lamar, bounded partly west by Schumpert & Thomas brick building, north by S.H. Hawkins', east by hotel lot and S. Waxelbaum & Bro. Nov. 22,1878 "Rylander Academy has been renovated, top story taken off, a new roof put on lower story", C.M. Wheatley, contractor Mar. 7,1879 "Church...to be extended from intersection with Brown...to center of cemetery...by crossing the va- cant lot of Messrs. Davenport & Smith" (completed Feb. 1881) Mar. 21,1879 "The extension of Church...to cemetery, now in progress...Mr. (S.H.) Mitchell...went to work... Monday morning" Apr. 11,1879 "James Fricker is having his house...rebuilt", Par- kins, of Atlanta, architect May 1879 Dr. J.B. Hinkle's office foundation laid, next to N.A. Smith's, 36 x 34 ft, on Jackson May 23,1879 James Fricker's on Church and E. Taylor's on Taylor being built, latter having burned Mar. 30 June 13,1879 Sheffield & Huntington "contemplate building...large brick tin-roofed edifice fronting on Jackson...to be used as a wagon repository" June 20,1879 "Mr. Fricker's...dwelling on Church...is rapidly approaching completion" July 4,1879 "brick work on...Sheffield & Huntington building is progressing finely. Frank Newsome...contractor" July 11,1879 "R.M. Stewart will shortly erect a handsome resi- dence on Taylor"; "U.B. Harrold contemplates...erec- tion of a mansion residence on College street short- ly."; "C.M. Wheatley has been awarded...contract for ...wood work of...building of Messrs. Sheffield & Huntington, now being erected on Jackson..." July 18,1879 "One house and lot in East Americus, bounded north by Mrs. Matt A. Cobb's lot, east by lot belonging to estate of W.W. Barlow, south and west by streets, being one acre...occupied by Robert Rutherford..."; "Street Committee, recommending...opening of... street, leading to...new church...eastern portion of...city" Aug. 1,1879 "We learn that Messrs. Harrold, Johnson & Co. will commence building...Opera House on Forsyth...in a few days. They have purchased (150,000) brick, which are now being delivered..." Sept 12,1879 "C.M. Wheatley has...contract for building a...house for Jesse Salter."; "Dick Stewart's new house will be finished this week...He will enter...last of this or...first of next week." Oct. 10,1879 James Walton's 2-story house, owned by Davenport & Smith on E. Church, burned down Oct. 16,1879 "dwelling...occupied by R.M. Stewart...west of... Methodist...parsonage...upper end of...lot...oppo- site...T.A. Graham...material furnished by...C.M. Wheatley...R.M. Stewart to build said house" Oct. 22,1879 "library building is completed, and is now receiving ...final decorations in...paint, etc., from...Jesse New" Nov. 2,1879 "Library Hall has been finished and...Association has taken possession" Nov. 14,1879 W.W. Barlow's house and lot bounded north by Church, occupied by Benj. F. Bell; house and lot on Church, 1 acre, bounded north by Ed Littleton's, east by L.C. Barrett's, south by Church, west by street, now occupied by E.G. Simmons Feb. 13,1880 "Improvements" - R.M. Stewart's Variety Works at Elbert Head's; "Mr. James Fricker has...handsomest and best arranged residence in...city." Mar. 5,1880 house and lot recently occupied by Eleazor Taylor, but now by J.W. Harris, bounded north by Lamar, west by Lamar and Dudley, south by Ed Littleton's, east by Merrell Callaway Apr. 9,1880 "Improvements"; Mrs. H.D. Randall's on Forrest, north of A.C. Bell's, for sale May 21,1880 Mrs. Patterson's destroyed by fire May 16 May 28,1880 H.K. McCay's old home burned June 4,1880 A.T. Oliver's burned in East Americus, the "Jenkins' Place" June 25,1880 Harrold, Johnson & Co. building house on Jackson, near Weschler's; C.M. Wheatley building 2 houses on Forrest; Mrs. Patterson rebuilding after fire July 2,1880 house and lot bounded east by John E. Hall's, west by J.J. Hudson's store, south by C.T. Furlow's, north by Lamar; "digging a cistern, on Jackson..., near the residence of Mr. Chas. F. Stanfield" July 9,1880 house and lot on College, 1/2 acre, bounded north by College, south by A.C. Bell's, west by Miles Patterson, east by Allen Stephens July 16,1880 "Work is rapidly progressing on new hotel." Sept 24,1880 "For Sale - I am offering for sale place known as James P. Guerry place, adjoining plantation of Capt. J.L. Adderton. It contains three hundred acres... on East side of Muckalee creek, and four hundred and twenty-five acres...on west side of creek. An ex- cellent dwelling house and all necessary out houses on both places...J.C. GUERRY." Oct. 15,1880 U.B. Harrold's "Desirable Home for Sale" Oct. 29,1880 "old French House, now occupied by Mr. T.W. Ansley" Nov. 19,1880 P.F. Brown's corner College and Forrest, 1 3/4 acre, 10-room house; L.B. Bosworth's new store "adds greatly to appearance of Forsyth" Dec. 3,1880 "C.M. Wheatley has contract for building a large six-room house for Mr. G.W. Walton, on old Perry Oliver lot, to be finished...by first of January ...Mayor Felder will build a fine residence in early spring, on Maxwell lot, on Taylor" Jan. 4,1881 U.B. Harrold's "Desirable House for Sale" Feb. 5,1881 J.M. Simmon & Co. selling house, now occupied by Henry Smaw, corner Church and Dudley Feb. 16,1881 "deep gulch that terminated lower end of Jackson near Southwestern Railroad, is being filled up and street will be extended to railroad...already a... cottage has been erected by Elbert Head."; "brick work of new building of Messrs. Hawkins & Coker, on Lamar...is drawing to completion" Feb. 25,1881 "Old Rock Hill Academy" - Mr. L.H. Cheney to "build a fine two story residence" Mar. 25,1881 "Dr. J.B. Hinkle is having four neat little houses built of two rooms each, which he designs to rent"; "opening street leading from Lamar so as to inter- sect Church...in rear of Dr. Hawkins...L.H. Cheney" petitioner for "extension of street leading to Rock Hill" Apr. 1,1881 "Capt. T.J. Brannon...advertising...new and beauti- ful little residence on Taylor...next door to... Methodist Parsonage for sale...built in 1879" Apr. 29,1881 house and lot bounded north by Joel R.G. Horne, east by Dudley, south by Mortimer Wood, 1 acre, now occu- pied by Mrs. L.A. Rosser; house and lot known as Eph Montgomery place, now occupied by Dock McCoy, bounded north by Jefferson, east by Dennis Sheppard, south by Austin Jones, 1 acre; "John R. Shaw... bought...lot from Capt. T.J. Brannon, cornering Lee and Taylor...where he will have a nice comfortable little residence - with just room enough for two, erected this summer." May 6,1881 "Methodist Parsonage has lately been...improved by ...addition of...veranda on...front...in lieu of... old portico" on Taylor June 3,1881 J.B. Ansley's bounded south by J.J. Hudson's, east by W.F. Mims', west by W.B.F. Oliver's, north by east-west street; Baptists to erect new parsonage on their church lot July 1,1881 "residence house and lot, except (3/4) of an acre off the rear of late Mrs. Roxalana McRee, situated on corner of Forsyth and Prince"; " Opera House"; "Perry & Glover...expected to commence work on their Opera House some time next week." July 15,1881 "Opera House" Aug. 26,1881 "work on new residence of Ben P. Hollis, Esq., on corner of Brown and Church" (destroyed by fire July 11,1892) Sept 16,1881 "erection of another dwelling on Lee...opposite Episcopal Church...next to Hon. Allen Fort's resi- dence. It is property of Judge Willis A. Hawkins" Oct. 14,1881 "Mr. Shaw's palace is ready for habitation." Dec. 2,1881 Messrs. J.G. Reynolds and H.C. Barrow, of Chicago, did scenic painting for Opera House Jan. 20,1882 "New Opera House"; "Col. S.H. Hawkins...will soon renovate and remodel building now occupied by Dr. Migrath and Mrs. Quinn...to be made twenty feet longer in rear - another story will be built on top"; "Dr. G.F. Cooper has bought vacant lot between Library Hall and store of Messrs. Davis & Callaway, and will build a brick office" Jan. 27,1882 Opera House grand opening Feb. 10.1882 "John R. Hamil & Bro. will commence foundations next week, of three large store rooms, (100 x 75 ft), on Cotton"; "I.N. Hart expects to build a two story brick building between his present store and that of Messrs. Glover & Perry"; "Capt. A.C. Bell has just closed contract for a new residence to be built on base of one he now occupies"; "J.A. Wharton is building a store room on his pro- perty on Cotton...down towards railroad." Mar. 3,1882 "Messrs. Sheffield & Co. are at work preparatory to erecting a two story iron front building...a front of eighty feet with a back of one hundred feet" Mar. 10.1882 "Harrold, Johnson & Co. will remodel their large warehouse on corner of Cotton...and Forsyth...into a first-class hotel. Mr. R.J. Perry will connect French house on north eastern corner of square with Cain house, forming a front of great beauty, with addition of a large number of rooms" Mar. 17,1882 "Progress" re east side public square; Hamil Bros. "We Are At It!"; "On Troup...Burkhalter, Hooks & Bagley will soon have their steam grist mill in op- eration"; "Elbert Head is erecting a commodious wooden two story building" on Troup, "street will ...cross the railroad and in the near future will grace the high hill on either side" Mar. 24,1882 "Erection of a New Calaboose"; "Charlie Wheatley is now at work on residence of the Messrs. Prince, putting another story on it" Apr. 7,1882 "Removal" of J.W. Sheffield & Co.; "Brooks Bosworth is improving residence formerly occupied by Mr. Matt Burke" Apr. 28,1882 "In making ground excavation for J.W. Sheffield & Co's. new building, workmen came upon a tar kiln said to have been placed there forty-five years ago" May 5,1882 "Prince Bros. residence at head of Jackson..., presents quite an imposing appearance since it has been remodeled...Capt. J.A. Cobb is having his res- idence in Leeton worked upon."; "Mr. R.J. Perry will in a short time commence work of remodeling his two buildings - adding a number of rooms, and extending balcony in front from end to end" May 12,1882 "Painful Accident" constructing J.W. Sheffield & Co. May 19,1882 "Hamil Bros. are laying brick...and soon their beau- tiful stores will be completed. Sheffield & Co's. building is putting on large proportions...Perry house is being painted and remodeled...Bank building ...with its iron front large glass doors" June 23,1882 fire at W.H. Hooks' on Jackson, occupied by Adolph Cohen "main building is standing, a shell of its former self" June 30,1882 house and lot of Mit C. Green bounded east by Jack- son, west by Forrest, south by Harrold, Johnson & Co., north by D.K. Brinson's July 7,1882 "An Accident" at J.W. Sheffield & Co.; "new bank building on Cotton...assuming most beautiful pro- portions. Its iron front and turreted top is admir- ation of all who see...Bank of Americus...new build- ing" July 14,1882 "Star of Improvement"; "Rees Park"; "Our Mayor... Hon. J.B. Felder is having ground broken preparatory to...erection of...residence on...vacant lot former- ly occupied by Colonel Maxwell" on Taylor Sept 1,1882 G.W. Council's "For Sale" Nov. 10,1882 "scaffolding of new building of Sheffield & Co., is removed, and business begun in street story" Nov. 17,1882 "Republican's" 1854 building burned; French & Cain house burned Dec. 8,1882 R.J. Perry bought Tab Oliver's "on Lamar...opposite Presbyterian church" Dec. 22,1882 "Mrs. Raines' new building on...Southwest corner of ...Church and Jackson, begins to show its bright proportions" Jan. 5,1883 "Mr. G.W. Glover will soon begin erection of a com- modious warehouse east of opera house, reserving space for a large store on ground where old hotel now stands" Jan. 12,1883 "Sheffield & Co's. Establishment" Feb. 9,1883 "new building Mr. Perry is going to put up on his public square corner...will front on Forsyth...50 x 75 feet...two stories high"; "proposition from Col. S.H. Hawkins to donate right of way for street through Furlow Lawn" Feb. 16,1883 Andrew F. Hill, of Houston Co., has purchased house and lot formerly owned by Mrs. Randall, on Forrest next to A.C. Bell Feb. 20,1883 R.J. Perry began brick building, SE corner Forsyth and Jackson Feb. 23,1883 "street leading north from Church to Forsyth was named "Hinkle"" Mar. 2,1883 Americus Bank description Mar. 9,1883 "now opening up Barlow street, being a continuation ...from College southward through lawn to a point opposite Mr. D.B. Hill's residence...and will shortly open Furlow street. This will begin south of Lawn Mansion, and nearly opposite Mr. Troutman's purchase (Hardwick place), and running eastward opens out on Smith (now Elm)"; "Wright place, on College Hill, corner Forrest..., has four rooms and one acre...Pickett place, next to Wright place on Forrest...four room house" Mar. 30,1883 "Perry's new brick edifice is assuming grand pro- portions"; "old hotel...on northeastern corner of square, is now no more...built in 1833-34 and was first run as a hotel by Ned Montgomery"; "street Committee recommending...Head's alley and Dudley street be not opened" Apr. 13,1883 "Messrs. M.B. Council and J.J. Williford...have leased Glover & Perry warehouse to be built on cor- ner of Forsyth and Troup...this summer" Apr. 27,1883 "We extend a cordial welcome to Capt. John Cobb and family as next door neighbors." May 4,1883 "brick work was commenced on new warehouse of Messrs. Glover & Perry...It corners on Jefferson and Troup...will be 150 x 86 feet...to be finished by 1st of September" May 18,1883 "open to public travel, Jackson Street northward, from crossing of Wild Street, to Patterson...thence to Lester...a width of not less than thirty feet" June 1,1883 house and lot bounded east by Jackson, west by For- rest, south by Harrold, Johnson & Co., north by D.K. Brinson, Mitt C. Green; house and lot bounded north by Edd Pittman's, south by old Danville Rd., west by B.M. Wheeler's, east by R.P. Tondee's, 1/4 acre June 2,1883 house and lot, 15 acres, R.H. Daniels agent for wife, bounded north by Jefferson, east by Mayo, south by R.E. Cobb's, "western boundary not known"; house and lot, 1/2 acre, Fannie Thompson's, bounded south by Forsyth, north by Harriet Stewart, east by Austin Jones, west by Eliza Howard; house and lot, 2 acres, Mrs. M.L. McCoy's, bounded north by Spring, south by Church, east by Dr. Byrd, west by James Harris and Mrs. Gilmore; house and lot, 1/2 acre, Sam Dickson's, bounded east by Forrest, south by James Russell, east by C.M. Wheatley, north by Booker Norman's estate; house and lot, 1/2 acre, Booker Norman's estate, bounded east by Forrest, south by Sam Dickson, west by C.M. Wheatley, north by Baptist Church; house and lot, 1 acre, Miles Patterson's, bounded north by College, south by vacant land, west by A.C. Bell, east by new street; house and lot, 1/2 acre, "known as place where Dr. Purvis now lives", bounded west by Hampton, north by Wince Jackson, south by Cincinnatus Andrews, "eastern boundaries not known"; 4 houses and lot, 1/2 acre, James Alexander's, bounded south by Lamar, west by Hampton, north by Granger Warehouse, east by W.D. Haynes' stables; house and lot, 1/2 acre, M.E. Hart's, bounded north by Jefferson, south by Forsyth, east by I. Cain, west by J.W. Sheffield & Co.; house and lot, 4 acres, John L. Adderton, trustee, "known as place where the said Adderton now lives", bounded east by McGarrah, south by "road running to Guerry's bridge, other boundaries not known"; house and lot, 4 acres, W.C. Smith's, bounded south by Ashby, north by Town Creek, west by an alley, east by Lizzie Parker June 22,1883 "H.D. Watts...commenced...erecting a brick store on Northeast corner of the public square"; "Professor Schneider...preparing to build...residence on his lot near College on Jackson"; "John Windsor...to build another story on his residence fronting Rees Park."; "J.E. Mathis...bought a lot corner of Bar- low and Furlow..will soon erect a...dwelling" July 6,1883 vacant lot bounded south by Church, west by Dudley, north by Ed Littleton's, east by Barrett's, 1/2 acre July 20,1883 "Messrs. Council & Williford speak...regarding their new warehouse, just completed, on public square by Glover's Opera House" Aug. 3,1883 "Mr. Pat Erskine, overseer of street hands...work done on Jackson...In a few weeks it will be comple- ted, with a tunnel under railroad, and having been extended to city boundary on north"; U.S. Lockett bought Pickett house on Forrest, near Capt. A.C. Bell's; C.A. Bell bought J.L. Price's, corner College and Forrest Aug. 17,1883 "mechanics are giving finishing strokes to Prof. Carl Schneider's neat little cottage on College Hill. We learn it will be occupied by Mr. Charles Fricker when completed." Sept 28,1883 "J.W. Harris & Co....have purchased and refitted ...building lately occupied by Schumpert, Roney & King" Oct. 5,1883 "work on Jackson street has been completed" Jan. 4,1884 H. Elam's, opposite S.B. Hawkins, south side Church 1 acre, 6 room house Jan. 18,1884 fire at Tom Greene's, corner Barlow and College Mar. 28,1884 Barlow Block fire Mar. 26 (see also Apr. 4) Apr. 4,1884 Mrs. J.R. Leamon's bounded north by lands of Allen Fort and Carl Schneider, west by U.B. Harrold, east by H.T. Davenport, south by College Apr. 11,1884 Jas. Alexander's bounded south by Lamar, west by Hampton, north by Grange warehouse, east by W.D. Haynes' stable, 1/2 acre; M.E. Hart's bounded south by Public Square, west by J.W. Sheffield & Co., north by Jefferson, east by Ice Cain's, 1/2 acre; Mrs. M.L. McCoy's bounded north by Spring, west by James Harris', south by Church, east by Dr. Bird's, 2 acres May 2,1884 "burned storehouse of Messrs. Calvin Carter & Son will soon be reconstructed" May 9,1884 Mrs. M.B. Mathis' bounded north by S.H. Hawkins', east by W.I. Murray's, south by Furlow, west by Lew Bosworth's; George Brooks' bounded west by Lee, south by Church, north by P.L. Mize and J.H. Allen May 16,1884 W.A. Hawkins' rental house, occupied by J.W. Brady, burned; "Capt. T.J. Brannon's elegant residence on Taylor street is about finished. He will move in next week."; "residence of G.W. Glover is under- going improvements"; "new building of Mr. Joe Rowland, near southeast corner of Square,is now completed" June 20,1884 1855 Americus Baptist Church, SW corner Church and Forrest, destroyed by fire July 4,1884 J.E. Mathis' house and lot, #7 in Furlow Lawn survey; "building...school house on McCay's hill for...col- ored children...Sam Stevens and Jeff Jones,...arch- itects" July 11,1884 R.B. Lee's bounded north by Taylor, west by Smith, south by Rylander's, east by Maxwell's July 25,1884 "block of new brick buildings now going up in place of burnt one, will contain...handsome...row of business houses" July 30,1884 "FOR RENT! That...dwelling house on College Hill next door east of...Dr. Cooper lot, and occupied at present by Mr. W.A. Brannon...Apply to URIAH B. HARROLD." Aug. 1,1884 "FOR RENT!...dwelling house on College Hill next door east of Dr. Cooper lot, and occupied at pre- sent by Mr. W.A. Brannon...URIAH B. HARROLD." Aug. 15,1884 "brick work of new Barlow Block is now finished, and Mr. Mayo has turned it over to carpenters and plasterers"; B.W. Patterson's burned Sept 19,1884 "We are now at our old stand in our new building... CALVIN CARTER & SON."; Baptists "have provided them- selves with a nice parsonage, home of Mr. T.A. Graham on Taylor St." Dec. 5,1884 A.C. Bell erecting store on Cotton "just north of Charley Crocker's (1891 #116)", fronting 40 ft 70 ft back Feb. 13,1885 "corner of Barlow and Furlow...Mr. Lew Bosworth has enclosed a lot...evidences of a nice new house may be seen."; "Mr. Cooper Godwin has added two rooms to his house on corner of Prince and Lamar" Apr. 1885 A.T. Oliver's on Church; Lott Warren's foundation laid on Taylor Oct. 1885 "from street crossing Mitchell's Mill dam to Jackson St. railroad bridge, leaving Ellaville Rd. at last house at foot of hill approaching hill from north, running southeasterly until intersecting with Jack- son St. at crossing" Mar. 25,1886 "Rylander academy, which fronts Rees Park, is being torn down...new residence will be built in its place." Sept 1886 Dr. Hawkins building house corner Church and Prince; Dr. J.B. Hinkle lets contract for new house "on lot just east of his home place" Jan. 6,1887 "Work on Sumter county's new "Temple of Justice" was actually begun yesterday morning. Mr. A. McGilvray, contractor, arrived...on Wednesday last...first brick in foundation...was laid by little Walter Ben Hollis and Allen Fort, Jr." Jan. 27,1887 Col. J.C. Mathews to build just south of Maj. W.A. Black on Lee Feb. 3,1887 Mrs. Harvey bought D.K. Brinson's on Jackson; Mrs. M.E. Raines bought lot between her and A.J. Buchan- an Feb. 10.1887 "LAYING CORNERSTONE" for new courthouse; C.M. Wheatley to build 6 new dwellings on Bell, between Forrest and Lee Mar. 24,1887 nearing completion: Rev. A.B. Campbell's on Taylor, Col. J.C. Mathews' on Lee, Mrs. B.F. Harvey's on Jackson, Maj. M. Speer's, on old Cohen lot, "recent- ly began"; 2 cottages on Furlow Lawn by J.E.D. Shipp, residence on Taylor just east of Dr. Hinkle's Apr. 14,1887 Walter Brown building on Aycock lot on Troup; C.M. and G.D. Wheatley bought old Jackson property in East Americus and subdivided; C.F. Stanfield bought 8 acres next J.E. Bivins' in Leeton; J.E.D. Shipp bought lot north of Maj. W.A. Black's, fronting 100 ft May 19,1887 "Charley Ansley's...cottage on Church...is rapidly nearing completion and will soon be ready for occu- pancy." June 1887 groundbreaking for Bagley Bldg., Forsyth and Troup; Judge Kendrick "will begin" on Hampton nearly oppo- site George Stapleton's July 1887 2-story Bagley Bldg. on Forsyth; Judge Kendrick's home on Hampton; James T. Cotney building 4-room cottage on Church, near H.C. Bagley's; J.E.D. Shipp begins house on Furlow Lawn; Dr. J.B. Hinkle bought vacant lot from Ansleys, corner Church and Jackson opposite Moses Speer's Aug. 1887 completion of Argo & Bagley's, corner Forsyth and Troup Dec. 1887 Judge Seaborn Montgomery erects building on Cotton "below Bell's produce store" (NE corner Cotton and Wheeler) Jan. 1888 J.E.D. Shipp builds cottage on Furlow Lawn for Dr. C.A. Brooks, also cottage on Lee next Maj. W.A. Black's Mar. 1888 W.B. Buchanan begins house on Taylor "between Mrs. Addison's and Mr. Taylor's" Apr. 19,1888 "An Old Land Mark", 1852 wooden building built by Chas. J. Malone, next NE corner Lamar and Lee, to be razed, "Perry Oliver run a large grocery store in one room; Mr. J.W. Wheatley a drug store; Judge Kent McCay occupied rooms upstairs as a law office ...Mrs. M.T. Elam first began business just after the war, in...upper story...Republican issued a paper...old Wide-Awake Fire Company used...corner room, upstairs, as a hall" May 1888 watertower construction began; excavation began on foundation of Thomas Block (completed Oct. 1888) June 1888 complete renovation began on Col. Hawkins, College and Lee July 1888 W.F. Mims new dwelling corner Church and Lee almost completed; David Hill's completed, south side Hill at Barlow terminus; watertower bricked 90 ft up; J.E.D. Shipp's on Lee recently completed; Methodist Parsonage to be built behind church Aug. 3,1888 Bruce & Morgan, architects of Atlanta who designed courthouse, donated plans for Methodist Parsonage Sept 1888 Raymond Rees' new house on College Oct. 26,1888 "colored Masons...have commenced...erection of a... commodious hall, two stories, located on Forsyth... opposite Mr. Ben Wheeler's residence." Nov. 9,1888 "R.M. Stewart's new residence on Church...is near- ing completion." Nov. 16,1888 "Policeman W.W. Wheeler is turning his residence around so as to front on Lee...When it was built it was placed sideways to...street, fronting north" Nov. 23,1888 "Messrs. Pim and Taylor, of Atlanta, commenced mov- ing...residence occupied by Marshal Lingo, this morning, near...Methodist parsonage...house will be moved thirty feet north and fifty feet east." Jan. 10.1889 "W.D. Haynes has sold his son-in-law, Mr. Mershon, a building lot between his residence and Dr. West- brook's" (#407 W. Church); "brick work of...old Baptist church has been cleared away, and...A.K. Schumpert intends to erect three...dwellings" Jan. 17,1889 "Maj. M. Speer, who owns a large tract...in East Americus, has donated to...city an alley of twen- ty feet, running north from Lamar to Jefferson... intersecting...street leading to...colored ceme- tery"; "Maj. M. Speer has made another donation... of a new street. It runs from Spring...by Magnolia Dell, up through a field north, and passing by a number of houses in...old Riley Covington neighbor- hood, intersecting...Friendship road at...lower cor- ner of Capt. John L. Adderton's field, in...rear of his house" Jan. 24,1889 "At an early date, Mr. L.S. Tower will erect a... two-story dwelling on...present site of Mrs. Huling's" Jan. 31,1889 "Mr. C.M. Wheatley will commence immediately... erection of two...residences on Jackson between Messrs. Cohen and Turpin's" Feb. 7,1889 "Mr. John Colson is erecting...residence on Furlow ...near...Mr. Lew Bosworth."; "Messrs. Geo. Davis, Nap. Carson, D.M. Rubsam, and W.M. Reese purchased of Mr.R.E. Cobb, six building lots on Church and Rees" Feb. 21,1889 "Mrs. C.F. Foster purchased of Dr. W.P. Burt... building lot east of his residence, on Felder" (sold to John H. Mohrman Apr. 24) Feb. 28,1889 "Policeman W.M. Ragan purchased...building lot... between Doctor's residence and lot he sold Mrs. Foster" (sold to Mrs. Roxie L. Jones May 2) Mar. 7,1889 "Mr. A.K. Schumpert will begin latter part of this or first of next week to build" (3 houses, SW cor- ner Church and Forrest); "Mr. T.H. Davenport...to erect...on his vacant lot on College...fronting south"; "street committee closed...contract yester- day with...M.B. Hunter to cement...artificial lakes in Rees Park, and work was commenced...yesterday" Mar. 8,1889 "lot upon...which...W.E. Brown has recently erected a dwelling house for himself" Mar. 15,1889 "Judge Allen Fort has sold...building lot, fronting on Finn, west of his residence, to Mrs. Sallie Tommey, who...will soon erect a residence" Mar. 29,1889 "C.M. Wheatley has just completed...two-story cot- tage, on Jackson...near...S.M. Cohen, and has star- ted a larger two-story residence by side of this one" Apr. 1889 Capt. T.J. Brannon began construction of Brannon Ave. due east from Lee Apr. 5,1889 "Mrs. Susan Black will commence work in a few days improving her residence on Church...by...addition of another story." Apr. 19,1889 "Mr. Schumpert's...on Church...fast nearing comple- tion...Thornton Wheatley will soon erect a couple of two-story residences fronting...Schumpert's on lot between Messrs. Williams and Ansley" Apr. 26,1889 "residence on Jackson...of the heirs of Mr. Thos. Harrold is fast nearing completion." May 1889 George D. Wheatley's 10- to 12-room house "on old Hardwick residence lot, on Lee" (NW corner Furlow and Lee; razed Oct. 22,1932); J.P. Chapman erecting several small dwellings at Church and Lamar; E.B. Mershon builds 2-story, 6-room house on Church "between Mr. W.D. Haynes and Dr. Westbrook's"; J.N.B. Carson's on Church near cemetery; Simon Cohen's two 4-room houses on Mayo near J.W. Guerry; Merrell Callaway builds house near his present res- idence on Jackson; Holt & Hooper broke ground on 2-story building next J.P. Chapman's on Lamar; L.S. Tower began home on Church; Mrs. Tommey's on Finn near depot May 3,1889 "Prof. Carl Schneider's new music room and sleeping apartments, on Jackson...are completed...now arran- ging a cellar underneath building. Mr. A.K. Schum- pert's new residences on Church...are ready for painters, and will be fully completed within ten days. Mr. Black and Mr. Bolton, on Church and Lee ...are pushing two-story additions to their houses rapidly. Mr. Cyrus Smith is...engaged with his residence on Jefferson...and expects to occupy it in a short while. Mr. W.H. Kimbrough has just com- pleted and moved into a...residence on Smith (now Elm)...Mr. H.D. Watts is erecting two...residences near his store and dwelling, on Forsyth...Mr. Cal- vin Carter will soon add another story to his... residence on Lee...Contractors are now figuring on estimate. Mr. Robt. L. Sullivan has just completed ...residence on Forsyth...in front of Mr. R.E. Cobb's place. Mr. W.E. Murphey will soon erect... dwelling on Lee...opposite Mr. Calhoun Matthews residence. Mr. C.F. Stanfield is arranging to build a residence on his vacant lot in Leeton, on Smith...Elbert Head, col., has about completed work on a large two-story building, on Lee...opposite his own residence. Aunt Emaline Hill, col., is tearing away her old residence, on Church...and replacing it with a...cottage." May 21,1889 "Holt & Hooper started work on two-story building on Lamar...yesterday." (26 ft front 80 ft back) May 24,1889 T. Wheatley building two 2-story brick stores on Forsyth "east of Hill corner, adjoining that build- ing...first 25 feet front 30 feet deep...other...25 feet front 75 feet deep"; A.J. Hamil "will soon commence" store on Cotton "north of the Hamil block ...same size as the one now used by Brown & French"; "two other...store-rooms will be built on Lamar... adjoining store occupied by Mr. Mat Fitzgerald" June 1889 M.N. Edwards building home on Jefferson near J.C. Hogue's, #575 E. Jefferson July 12,1889 "Messrs. Levi Tower and George Wheatley's residen- ces are nearing completion." July 19.1889 "Mr. C.F. Giddings is building a...residence on Mayo.,.near that of Col. L.J. Blalock." July 26,1889 new U.S. Post Office "A Beautiful Building" Aug. 2,1889 "second story on...Mr. Calvin Carter, on Lee"; "George D. Wheatley's...near Furlow Lawn...fast nearing completion."; "Simon Cohen has just comple- ted two...cottages on Mayo" (razed 1997) Aug. 20,1889 "building...residence in Leeton for C.F. Stanfield"; "P.L. Holt has commenced building...on Taylor...near Mrs. Maxwell's." Aug. 23,1889 "Fire Wednesday Morning" at B.M. Wheeler's, Forsyth Aug. 30,1889 "Mr. C.F. Giddings moved into his new residence just completed on Mayo...East Americus, yesterday." Sept 6,1889 "W.J. Phillips' new residence on Church...near L.S. Tower's...will soon be completed."; "Col. W.A. Dodson, on Lee...fast assuming proportions." (razed 1954) Oct. 1889 Prof. Carl Schneider's corner Church and Dudley; W.J. Slappey's on Lee "north of Mrs. Hudson's late residence" Nov. 1889 T.H. Davenport's lot on College sold to Dawson Mfg. Co. to build house; C.F. Stanfield's in Leeton, on Smith (now Elm), completed; W.M. Ragan completes cottage on Mayo, East Americus, buys lot on Prince "adjoining late Perry residence" with W.T. Ragan to build two houses; W.J. Phillips' on Church comple- ed; S.A.M. RR crossing on Jackson; Clay Bagley be- began house, corner Brown and Taylor; R.F. Sams bought lots from W.A. Cook and builds cottages on Church, west of Mosby Dec. 1889 Dr. J.J.W. Ford's house on Church Jan. 1890 Brannon Ave. opened from Barlow to Lee; W.K. Bell's on Forrest; A.J. Cleghorn's on Forrest; R.E. Cobb's "opposite cemetery"; W.B. Mayo's corner Jefferson and Mayo; P.L. Holt to erect 9-room house on Smith, Rees Park; F.G. Olver's on Jefferson "near old cem- etery"; J.C. Nicholson to build on Church "near Mr. Thomas Joiner" Feb. 1890 Mrs. W.K. Bell's 2-story house on Forrest "near her former residence"; J.W. Twitty to build on Felder; F.A. Hooper began house "on lawn property, located on College"; G.W. Terrell began house "on his lot near Jas. Dodson on Lee"; Magnolia Ave. opened bor- dering "Magnolia Dell, running north and intersect- ing Guerry bridge road in rear of Capt. J.L. Adder- ton's residence"; Lt. W.W. Wheeler to build 2-story house "adjacent to Mims place" Mar. 1890 Col. E.A. Hawkins to begin 13-room house on Church; Col. L.J. Blalock's on Forsyth almost done; C.M. Wheatley building 2-story house on Forrest "below Mr. James Riviere's"; McGarrah widened to Brooklyn Heights; Leeton Pavilion going up "north of bridge over SAM road, and east of street railway", 60 x 150 ft; R.J. Perry to build house next to Presby- terian Church Apr. 1890 Max Altman's 2-story house on Jackson opposite Presbyterian Church; L.G. Hudson began 3-story brick store, corner Jefferson and Lee; Clay Bagley's on Taylor completed (razed 1946); C.A. Bell's 2- story house on Forrest; W.M. Tullis' house on Church moved back 30 ft and built new 2-story, 6-room house facing Church May 1890 John C. Nicholson began 2 houses on land "recently purchased" from Judge J.A. Ansley; Mrs. Belle Brown began 2-story, 7-room house on Jackson; W.J. Mathews to begin 2-story house on Furlow, "an exact counter- part of one just completed"; R.F. Sams building on Taylor, "near Mr. Lott Warren's"; P.B. Williford began house "opposite Mr. D.B. Hill's"; Brooklyn Heights subdivision laid out behind Dr. Black's May 11,1890 houses completed or nearing completion, by street: LEE- W.J. Slappey, 2-story res.; Boney Hudson, 1- story res.; Calvin Carter, 2-story res.; Mrs. Mul- key, 1 story cottage; Dr. C.A. Brooks, 1-story cot- tage; Geo. D. Wheatley, 2-story res.; W.A. Dodson, 2-story res.; L.J. Hudson, 6 1-story cottages; A.J. Hamil, 1-story cottage; Jack Furlow, 1-story cottage; Elbert Head, add to Liberty Hall; John Coleman, 1- story cottage; Elbert Walker, 2-story res.; South- western College, 9 1-story cottages; E.C. Speer, 1- story res.; BRANNON- T.J. Brannon, 3 1-story cotta- ges; FURLOW- W.J. Mathews, 2-story res.; BARLOW- Lew Bosworth, 2-story res.; ELM- C.F. Stanfield, 1- story res.; D.T. Lane, 2-story res.; L.B. Bosworth, 1-story cottage; P.L. Holt, 2 2-story res.; E.C. Speer, 1-story res.; TAYLOR- P.L. Holt, 2-story res.; H.C. Bagley, 2-story res.; CHURCH- Rubson, 2-story res.; R.M. Stewart, 1-story res.; E.A. Hawkins, 2- story res.; J.W.L. Daniel, 2-story res.; C.J. Schneider, 2 1-story res.; C.J. Schneider, 2-story res.; W.M. Tullis, 2-story res.; W.T. Mims, 2-story res.; FORSYTH- R.E. Cobb, 4 1-story res.; A.C. Speer, 1-story res.; Z.H. Gilreath, 2-story res.; L.J. Blalock, 2-story res.; MAYO- Buck Ragan, 1-story res.; W.B. Mayo, 1-story res.; JEFFERSON- Elbert Head, 2 1-story cottages; Jim Clements, 2 1-story cottages; M.M. Guerry, 1-story res.; F.G. Olver, 1-story res.; L.G. Hudson, 2 1-story res.; WILD- Elbert Head, 2 1-story cottages; LESTER- Lula Cosby, 1-story cot- tage; JACKSON- Ike Murray, 1-story cottage; Ellen Johnson, 1-story cottage; Sawney Jordan, Jr., 1- story cottage; Jesse Mock, 1-story cottage; Aaron Durham, 1-story cottage; Phillip Tooley, 1-story cottage; Henry Mitchell, 3 1-story res.; Mrs. Belle Brown, 2-story res.; Mrs. R.J. Perry, 2-story res.; Add. to Nehring's bakery; MCCAY HILL- Col. Odd Fel- lows Hall, 2-story; 28 1-story cottages,"impossible to ascertain owner's name"; MCGARRAH- Jack Cosby, 1-story cottage; Sarah Hunter, 1-story cottage; Chas. Catledge, 2 1-story cottages; MAGNOLIA- B.F. Nysewander, 7 1-story cottages; Frank Burke, 1-story cottage; DAVENPORT- Dan Cooper, 1-story cottage; Kiner, 1-story cottage; Baisden & Mize, 5 1-story cottages; COTTON- Henry Mitchell, 3 1-story cottages; Harrold Banking Co.; PRINCE- J.C. Clarke, 1-story res.; LAMAR- Mrs. Rowland, 2-story res.; Dr. J.W. Jones, 2-story res.; Dr. J.C. Clarke, 2-story res.; Dick Jones, 1-story cottage; Henry Jones, 1-story cottage; HINKLE- Burt Jones, 1-story cottage; FOR- REST- W.K. Bell, 2-story res.; A.K. Schumpert, 1- story res.; C.A. & L.C. Bell, 2-story res.; A.J. Cleghorn, 2-story res.; HAMPTON- W.S. Brown, 1-story res.; DUDLEY & PLUM- C.A. Bell, 4 houses; Lias Wil- liams, 1-story cottage; SPRING- Mrs. W.T. Weekley, 1-story res.; RUSSELL- James Russell, 1-story cot- tage; ANCHROM- C.M.E. Church, 1-story cottage; COL- LEGE HILL- Dawson V. $ Mfg. Co., 2-story res.; Street Railway Pavilion; BUILDINGS CONTRACTED FOR: Americus Hotel $100K; City Hall $30K; Public School (imp't) $20K; Masonic Temple $10K; Baptist Church $25K; Wheatley V'ty W'ks plant $25K; Furniture Fac- tory plant $25K; Iron Works plant $50K; Cotton Bag- ging Factory $30K; New Postoffice Building $25K; A.I. Building $25K; S.A.M. Shops $25K; J.H. Freeman, Architect & Builder, 6 res. $10.2K; Sou. Lumber & Im. Co., 12 houses $7.2K; W.H. Lassiter, contractor, 4 houses $4K; C.M. Wheatley & Co., Architects & Builders, 7 res. $11.9K; Builders Supply Co., Ed. Stallings, Mgr., 12 houses $2.4K; H.C. Storey, 2- story res. $3K June 1890 U.B. Harrold began house, NW corner College and Lee (completed May 1892); H.T. Davenport began house on College June 10,1890 "on motion of Alderman (T.F.) Logan street running north from Forsyth...at Oak Grove cemetery, was named Cherry" June 14,1890 Dr. E.T. Mathis to begin house in Leeton June 17,1890 Mrs. Tommey's on Elm "nearing completion"; L.C. Bell to add second story to Forsyth store formerly owned by Davenport & Stapleton June 19,1890 plat map of Felder St. at Harris June 21,1890 detailed renovation of Jackson St. School June 22,1890 F.A. Hooper and Welborn Clark building 2-story homes "on Furlow Lawn - College"; R.F. Sams' on Forrest "nearing completion"; L.J. Blalock's on Forsyth; Z.H. Gilreath adjoining Blalock's; 2-story boarding house "corner of Prince and Lamar...will soon be completed"; John W.L. Daniel's "on Church...is about completed"; C.A. Fricker "perfecting plans" on Tay- lor; E.A. Hawkins' on Church designed by Windsor architect, G.L. Normann; C.C. Hawkins completing 3 cottages on Furlow near Felder; Mr. Lane's and Mr. Tommey's in Leeton nearly completed; Maj. Glessner's "under way" (NE corner Glessner and Lee); H.M. Stokes cottage on Furlow; Lew Bosworth "just com- pleted" 2-story building on Barlow; C.A. and R.C. Bell completing 2-story house on Forrest (destroyed by fire Mar. 3,1898); A.J. Cleghorn's on Forrest finished; J.E. Mathis building house "just north of Calvary church"; C.A. Bell completes 4 cottages on Dudley and Plum; H.C. Mitchell finishing cottages on McGarrah; Samuel Hart and Will R. Jackson buil- ding on Forsyth in East Americus "near cemetery"; Mr. Rubsam's completed on Church; Walter S. Brown's new home on Hampton; W.J. Mathews corner Barlow and Furlow; Dawson Variety Mfg. Co. "costly dwelling on College"; U.G. Anderson to begin on Dodson June 24,1890 G.M. Byne to build "on College...corner of Barlow"; Ashley Thompson to build "on Lee...off old Barlow property" July 1890 Davenport Drug Co. began construction on Jackson "between old Granberry corner and Library" July 11,1890 T. Wheatley to build 3-story brick building for Davenport Drug Co., fronting 26 ft on Jackson with 62 ft depth July 23,1890 "Ground was broken yesterday for...Davenport Drug Company, on Jackson...between...old Granberry cor- ner and...library" July 31,1890 "Mr. John T. Argo has sold eight vacant lots on Mayo...in East Americus, whole being a part of Daniel property purchased some time since by him" Aug. 1890 A.J. Hamil began 2-story brick building on Cotton "an addition to Hamil Block"; C.A. Byrd's house on Lee "in front of his father's home"; Plum extended "across creek, through Davenport property to Magno- lia"; W.E. Murphey and Avera building brick stores between Holt's and Schumpert's on Lamar; Harrolds rebuilding front of Hamil Bldg., SW corner Lamar and Lee Aug. 5,1890 R. Eugene Byrd building house in Leeton "opposite his father's home"; Charles Byrd's "a short dis- tance beyond" Aug. 6,1890 "work of tearing away...front of...old city build- ings is progressing rapidly. Mr. Hamil has dubbed it..."Artesian Block" Aug. 12,1890 Mrs. Belle Brown building 2 houses on Jackson, "near corner of Church", one a 12-room boarding house Aug. 13,1890 L.B. Bosworth building store 20 x 60 ft, fronting Felder and Henrietta, "latter shortly to be opened" Aug. 21,1890 D.W. Bagley to build house on Lee between Calvin Carter's and G.W. Glover's Sept 1890 storehouse of Johnson & Harrold almost done, corner Lamar and Lee; W.M. Tullis' on Church "nearly com- pleted"; U.B. Harrold's, College and Lee, "has not yet taken on its outward garb of beauty"; H.T. Davenport's on College "growing fast" with "several additions to original plan"; Dawson Variety Co. to finish house on College; H.C. Storey's 2-story cot- tage in Leeton; Will Hawkins to build corner College and Lee; W.E. Murphey to build $8000 house corner Furlow and Lee; C.A. Fricker "has plans" to "erect on Taylor"; G.W. Glover to build "on lot between his old residence and Dr. Eldridge on Lee"; A.S. Thompson to build in Leeton; John T. Argo to build on 60 foot vacant lot on Church from E.A. Hawkins Sept 7,1890 list of houses and owners; M.B. Council began house "adjoining his present residence" in Rees Park Sept 13,1890 "Judge A.C. Speer will remove into his handsome new residence in a few days. He will offer his East Americus place for sale." Sept 14,1890 descriptions of various residential gardens Sept 28,1890 "Mr. John Daniel, Wheatley's shoe man and prospec- tive young alderman of city, resides in his own house." Oct. 7,1890 M.B. Council erecting on Rees Park, McElroy & Coo- fer, contractors; A.K. Schumpert & Co. added second story on Lamar Oct. 8,1890 "Mr. A. Dodson...superintendent of Americus Invest- ment Company, completed yesterday academy and Masonic lodge at DeSoto...two stores have gone up. Mr. Lamar is erecting ...five-room house, and Mr. Luke is to follow in a few days with...six-room cottage" Oct. 10,1890 Henry Stokes' new 2-story house on Furlow completed Oct. 16,1890 Thomas Joiner began house on Church Oct. 18,1890 Mrs. A.R. Brown razed her old house and began a new one on Brown; Jackson Street School renovations com- pleted Oct. 26,1890 Miss Lillie Brown began 2-story, 7-room house on Church, between Purgh and Joiner Oct. 28,1890 Americus Social & Athletic Club began 2-story buil- ding on Jackson "just below A.J. Buchanan's" Nov. 13,1890 Lawson Stapleton to build two 2-story houses on va- cant lot corner Church and Hinkle Nov. 16,1890 Henry Storey's cottage in Leeton to be completed by Christmas Dec. 30,1890 W.E. Murphey to build 3-story brick building on La- mar "next to P.L. Holt's carriage repository" Jan. 1,1891 W.T. Avera's "brick block on Lamar...will be com- menced" Jan. 7,1891 Patrick Bass sold vacant lot, corner Finn and Lee, to Rylander & Mathis Jan. 14,1891 Armstead Dodson bought "handsome new residence on College Hill" Jan. 22,1891 P.B. Williford sold "his...new residence on Barlow ...between Furlow and College" to Col. R.L. Maynard for $3000 Jan. 24,1891 Bell Mill property sold to Luther Bell "fronting 120 feet on Hampton...and extending back 200 feet to Dudley" Jan. 28,1891 R.F. Sams to build 2-story house on Lee "between homes of Mr. James Dodson and Dr. G.T. Miller" Jan. 30,1891 H.D. Watts building 2-story addition to Watts House, NE corner Forsyth and Lee; cornerstone ceremony for new City Hall, east side Lee between Forsyth and Lamar Apr. 1891 Frank Lanier, Jr. and Judge Ansley homes nearing completion on Lee; G. Morgan Eldridge began house next to Judge Ansley's on Lee May 1891 E.G. Simmons' 10-room house at Felder and Lee al- most completed; Tom Baisden and L.G. Hudson com- pleting 3 new homes on McGarrah next Capt. J.L. Adderton's; Mr. Sawyer's 2-story home, NW corner Dodson and Elm; R.S. Windsor erects two 2-story houses, NW corner Finn and Lee May 19,1891 L.N. Hudson began 2-story brick building "upon pre- sent side of his place of business" on Lee near artesian well May 28,1891 Mrs. James Shepherd bought lot to build on Furlow between Judge Mathews and Dr. Brooks' former home May 30,1891 A.J. Hamil began 3-story brick building on Cotton opposite Allen House June 1891 D.W. Bagley building house on Lee "between Mr. Cal- vin Carter's and Dr. Evan T. Mathis'" June 9,1891 W.T. Mims began 2-story block, NW corner Church and Lee July 10,1891 H.L. McLendon began house on Brannon July 12,1891 Frank Lanier, Jr. moved into new house on Lee; W.D. Bailey moved into new house "on Lawn"; B.H. Dunbar began house on Jackson Ave.; A.J. Hamil began brick building "just north of and adjoining his block on Cotton"; P.L. Holt began brick building on lot west of J.W. Harris & Co. (completed Sept. 1891) Aug. 1891 P.H. Williams completed 2-story house on Hampton Sept 1891 Henry Fite's house on Forrest completed; D.W. Bagley's on Lee nears completion; W.P. Burt building 2 houses, NW corner Church and Prince, corner one 6 rooms, other facing Church 5 rooms Oct. 1891 Windsor Ave. under construction Dec. 1891 E.D. Ansley moved into new home, SE corner College and Jackson Ave.; Mrs. Sheppard's nearly finished on Furlow between Barlow and Lee; Webster Bagley occupied new home on Lee; E.D. Ansley building 3 cottages on Jackson Ave.; Dr. McLendon's near Catholic Church on Lee, nearly finished; Dr. Burt completed 2 houses, corner Church and Prince, and building another on Prince; T.S. Greene began house on Brown; St. Peters (sic) Catholic Church nearing completion; S.A. Graham's almost complete, corner Bell and Hancock Jan. 1892 T.S. Greene's nears completion; Gen. S.K. Taylor building cottage on Taylor between his house and Bloom Brown's; D.F. Davenport's on Taylor Feb. 1892 J.H. Freeman's 2 houses on Brown; Davenport's new home on Taylor; Luther C. Bell broke ground on Church "immediately beyond Col. E.A. Hawkins'" (completed Apr. 1892; destroyed by fire June 10, 1977) Mar. 1892 U.B. Harrold's business building on Forsyth near Cotton; G.M. Byne began 2 brick stores on Lee "ad- joining Bagley Block" (completed May 1892) Apr. 14,1892 J.H. Freeman, G.O. Loving, Glover, Jno. Taylor and Watson "will build" on their vacant lots; Johnson & Harrold's and Byne's stores "in rapid process of construction" Apr. 24,1892 foundation "well under way" for Mrs. John Taylor's on Lee (completed Apr. 1893) May 1892 G.W. Horne began house on Lee June 1892 Clark & Hooper's 2-story building on Lamar began; Sumter County jail, designed by G.L. Normann; G.W. Glover began brick house on Lee June 16,1892 grandopening of Windsor Hotel Aug. 1892 Will Carter's on Lee almost done; work began on T. Wheatley's 3-story brick building next to Times- Recorder Sept 1892 John T. Taylor's nears completion on Lee; G.O. Loving's on Brown nears completion; Second Method- ist Church of East Americus to begin anew at corner of Jefferson and Mayo Sept 11,1892 "house of Mrs. T. Sapp...old Rylander home on For- rest...near college" #429 S. Forrest Oct. 1892 Arthur Rylander to build on Taylor next to Judge Crisp; G.M. Eldridge to build on west side of J.J. Williford's on Taylor Oct. 30,1892 fire destroyed S.K. Taylor's rental, next his resi- dence, and Bloom Brown's west of that Nov. 1892 Charles Crisp to begin house on Taylor between J.J. Williford's and Mrs. Addison's (completed July 1893); T. Wheatley Bldg. nears completion Dec. 7,1892 "Arthur Rylander will begin work shortly upon...res- idence he proposes to build on Taylor...will be built on...lot now occupied by...Judge Scarborough...(that) dwelling will be moved to...vacant lot next to...for- mer residence of Judge Crisp" Jan. 1893 Henry R. Johnson began adding second story to former Merritt property on College next U.B. Harrold's; Alderman W.J. Matthews' house, SW corner Barlow and Furlow, nears completion (completed Apr. 1893) Feb. 1893 new front on Granberry Bldg. by T. Wheatley; R.L. McMath drew plans for house on "The Club's" old lot on Jackson (completed Aug. 1893) Feb. 1,1893 "Work upon...residence which Judge Crisp proposes building on Taylor...was begun yesterday" Mar. 1893 Dr. J.I. Darby began house next S.K. Taylor on Tay- lor, "formerly occupied by A.S. Thompson" (completed June 1893); second story added to building "just north of Council & McGarrah's" Apr. 1893 new U.S. Post Office; Lawson Stapleton began house on only remaining vacant lot on south side Church, next John M. Coker's (completed Oct. 1893) May 1893 Mrs. J.A. Turpin began 2-story house "on vacant lot near her present home on Jackson"; M.P. Pickett's on Brooklyn Heights June 1893 Crawford Wheatley began two 2-story dwellings "upon site of old club house on Jackson" June 23,1893 "finishing touches are now being given to...home of Congressman Crisp, on Taylor...with his family can soon take resident possession." July 1893 open lot between Barlow Block and Hawkins House Sept 1893 Windsor Ave. opened; "old wooden depot, that for nearly forty years has stood at foot of Wheeler street, is being torn down" Oct. 1893 Eugene Doughtie began house corner Brannon and Lee Dec. 24,1893 "large dwelling house on old Sheppard Pryor planta- tion, some ten or twelve miles south of city, was burned to ground, together with its contents early yesterday morning." Jan. 1894 Crawford Wheatley building cottage on "site of old planing mill" on Jackson; Wells Brown bought vacant lot on Felder, next J.W. Harris', to build house; Episcopal rectory began, corner Hill and Lee Feb. 1894 Second Methodist Church of East Americus to erect parsonage, corner Forsyth and Mayo Mar. 1894 P.L. Holt began rebuilding on site of his recently burned house on Taylor; D.W. Bagley to build new residence on old Maxwell property on Taylor; A.C. Bivins to begin house corner Brannon and Lee; Messrs. Smithwick bought from Capt. P.C. Clegg "large two story dwelling on Barlow...better known as old lawn mansion" July 1894 Stephen Shipp began 2-story house on vacant lot, corner College and Harrold July 11,1894 "Work will begin today or tomorrow on...two dwell- ings to be erected by Arthur Rylander on Lee...J.H. Garfield has...building contract." July 18,1894 "old dwelling next...livery stables on Lamar...was torn down yesterday to make room for...brick ware- house of Hitt & Son...old building...having stood for, perhaps, forty years." July 26,1894 "Judge J.H. Allen...two-story house is to be built upon...old Pickett lot adjoining...Rylander proper- ty, and...work is to begin this morning. W.M. Allen has...building contract." Aug. 1894 J.H. Allen's nears completion on Lee as well as A. Rylander's two dwellings "fill gap in that block" Aug. 8,1894 "G.M. Eldridge has had prepared plans for...dwel- ling to be erected upon his vacant property on Tay- lor...next...residence of Mrs. B.P. Hollis." Sept 1894 W.A. Dodson bought vacant lot corner Hill and Lee next "his own property"; Thomas Hooks building 2- story house on his farm Oct. 1894 Stephen S. Shipp's on College nears completion; W.E. Hawkins began 2-story house on College "near his father's home" Oct. 10,1894 "new home...of...G.M. Eldridge...on Taylor...near- ing completion" Feb. 1895 T.L. Granberry to begin house on Prince between Church and Lamar; Dr. S.B. Hawkins "old family res- idence has stood in center of beautiful oak grove on Church...for nearly forty years" to be removed for 2 new houses by R.E. Allison (completed May 1895) and George A. McNeill Mar. 1895 M.I. Atkins began house on Lee next Judge J.A. Ansley's Apr. 1895 house owned by U.B. Harrold on Lee, known as "Finn property", "raised several feet and a number of rooms are being added"; Charles Lingo building house on Elm May 1895 Sheffield-Huntington Co., Perry & Brown and Mrs. F.D. Hollis to build 80 x 200 ft pressed brick and steel building on Forsyth vacant lot; Henry H. Black began house, next D.W. Bagley's on Taylor (completed Aug. 1895) June 1895 Dr. R.E. Cato to build house next M.B. Council's (completed Nov. 1895); W.H. Glover moved into new house on Church, "part of S.B. Hawkins property" Aug. 1895 George H. Seig began house in Leeton "one mile south of city"; A.C. Bivins to begin house, corner Brannon and Lee Sept 1895 Col. W.T. Lane's, on Lee near Hill, nears comple- tion (completed Nov. 1895); W.E. Hawkins "contem- plates" 7-room house on College "near home of Col. S.H. Hawkins" (completed Dec. 1895) Oct. 1895 James Montgomery to begin house in Leeton Feb. 1896 A.J. Hamil began house on Lamar "next residence of Mrs. M.J. Adams"; J.W. Marshall building 2-story house on Hill and Lee "next Episcopal rectory" and Col. W.T. Lane's (completed July 1896); P.L. Holt and J.W. Harris to build 2-story brick store on vacant lot "between their respective houses" Mar. 1896 Central Depot being completely renovated; Otis Reese to build house on Hill "adjoining property of Col. W.A. Dodson"; Mrs. Seth K. Taylor preparing to build house on her Barlow property near Brannon Apr. 1896 T.E. Joiner building on Church to replace house de- stroyed by fire May 1896 Scott's Mater Tabernacle C.M.E. has "a handsome addition...on front, from which towers a tall and graceful spire", also "a large bell has been pur- chased"; J.B. Felder's on Barlow nears completion June 1896 A.J. Hamil began 2-story, 10-room house on Lamar, "next home of Mrs. Adams", near Dudley (completed Oct. 1896) Aug. 1896 Bloom Brown began house "on his desirable lot on Taylor" (completed Nov. 1896) Sept 1896 J.H. Allen began 2-story, 8-room house on Lee "op- posite house he now occupies"; new railroad bridge across Barlow completed; Campbell Chapel A.M.E. got new roof and steeple; Edwin Bell completing house on Forrest Oct. 1896 Oliver-French-Shields Co. large brick building com- pleted and occupied in Plains Feb. 1897 Georgia & Alabama RR depot completed on S. Jackson Feb. 20,1897 "Under...direction of Chairman (J.W.) Guerry, of... park committee...has been started...Trees and flow- ers are being planted, a new rustic bridge built, ...lake cleaned out, grass sown", at Rees Park Mar. 1897 Bethel Baptist Church got new front and steeple; Crawford Wheatley building house on Jackson near G & A depot Apr. 1897 R.M. Stewart bought 6 acres bounded by Barlow, Elm, Furlow and Hill, to be subdivided into 30 building lots May 1897 2- or 3-story building on Forsyth "next Perry & Brown's store"; Johnson & Harrold began rental houses on Hancock; Furlow Lawn Baptist Church began May 5,1897 "TEARING AWAY A LANDMARK - Old Mitchell Mill is Demolished Yesterday - owned by B.C. Mitchell estate...was built shorty after close of war" June 1897 Mathis & Rylander began house on Brannon; Charles Huntington, Jr. moved W.A. Hawkins 8-room house, corner Church and Hampton, "nearer street and will be divided, thus making two dwellings thereof" while also beginning 2 or 3 "entirely new dwellings" July 1897 J.B. Felder began 2 houses on Barlow; Furlow Lawn Baptist Church completed except for pews (total cost $5,000); Arthur Rylander began 2-story, 8-room house north side Taylor "on vacant lot adjoining property sold to Mr. D.K. Brinson" (actually Aug.) Aug. 1897 T.Q. Bass' "near Georgia & Alabama shops" almost completed; C.C. Hawkins has plans for 2-story house on College "near new Baptist church"; Lee Childers began house on Church "near First Methodist church" (completed Oct. 1897) Oct. 1897 H.L. Mize, M.P. Pickett and H. Hansford building houses in Brooklyn Heights Nov. 1897 Charles Byrd began house on Lee "opposite home of Mayor Hixon" Dec. 1897 George A. McNeill bought "Rock Hill property of several acres between Lamar and Church" and will build several houses Jan. 11,1898 "Alderman C.J. Sherlock is building...residence on Brown...will be two stories" Mar. 1898 Robert Moore's on Brannon nearing completion; East Felder to be extended through Isomville; Americus Grocery Co. building to be located on NW corner Cotton and Wheeler (construction began Apr., com- pleted June 1898) Mar. 4,1898 "C.A. Bell residence, a large frame structure at... corner of College and Forrest...was entirely de- stroyed last night" Mar. 8,1898 "Work upon bicycle annex to Furlow street school has been delayed for some time, pending arrival of brick and other building material needed." Aug. 1898 James Taylor began house on Lee "between homes of Capt. John A. Cobb and Mr. George D. Wheatley"; W.H. Simmons began house corner Furlow and Lee; C.C. Hawkins prepares plans for 2-story, 8-room house on College "next Furlow Lawn Baptist church"; W.E. Clark's 8-room house on East Forsyth nears completion; R.E. Allison to begin house on Brannon Oct. 1898 W.H. McCormick began house on Furlow Nov. 1898 "old John V. Price homestead" razed, "as site will be used as location for officers' quarters at camp" Dec. 1898 Johnson & Harrold began house corner Furlow and Lee; sale of 15 Windsor Park lots; A.S. Thompson to build house on Lee St. Furlow Lawn property next W.H. Simmons' Mar. 1899 Henry C. Horton "preparing to build" house on Fel- der "near home of Judge J.B. Pilsbury" May 1899 Charles W. Lamar adding second story to home on Brown; W.R. Walker bought vacant lot next to Chas. L. Ansley to build house "thereon at once"; Mrs. D.K. Brinson building 2 houses on Furlow; announce- ment of 4-story Planter's Bank Bldg., opposite courthouse to be completed by Sept 1; J.T. Stallings began 2-story house on Lee "opposite residence of Mr. George D. Wheatley" (completed Dec. 1899) June 1899 R.L. McLeod added second story to his house, SW corner, Brown and Church; A.S. Thompson to build north side J.T. Stallings; U.B. Harrold preparing corner Furlow and Lee July 1899 overhaul of G & A depot on Jackson; 2-story brick addition to Allen House, corner Cotton and Forsyth, with complete renovation Aug. 1899 R.E. Allison building house on Brannon; J.H. Garfield "preparing to erect" house, corner Barlow and Furlow; construction began on Central RR depot (completed Mar. 1900) Sept 1899 Van Ripers built studio "on vacant lot fronting Presbyterian Church"; Arthur Rylander preparing to build house on Taylor "next his own residence"; Mrs. Martha Brinson building house on Taylor Nov. 1899 F.E. Johnston's store, "on Church, near Dudley", nears completion; John Sheffield bought Col. A.S. Cutts' home on Brown, "dwelling thereon will be torn away shortly and a handsome modern residence erected"; O.A. Coleman to build several small houses on his property on Elm Jan. 1900 Dr. J.M. Wilkes to build house on "vacant lot on Taylor...near First Baptist church" Feb. 1900 superintendent's cottage to be built "near center of cemetery"; E.B. Everett to build house on vacant lot on "part of old Bivins place" on Lee Mar. 1900 CSA monument erected at intersection of Forsyth and Lee Apr. 1900 E.B. Everett began 2-story house on Lee "opposite that of Judge Ansley" (completed May 1900); store house corner Elm and Hill; plans for Universalist Church on Taylor "a short distance east of First Baptist" (completed Nov. 1900); "passenger depart- ment of Central railroad here will today take up quarters in new passenger depot...instead of old building which has done duty for nearly thirty-five years...will be used as a freight warehouse exclu- sively." May 1900 P.L. Holt began house corner Elm and Taylor, front- ing Rees Park June 1900 Dr. J.M. Wilkes' "on Taylor...near First Baptist church, is progressing" July 1900 R.S. Broadhurst to build on vacant lot corner Bar- low and College Aug. 1900 R.S. Broadhurst bought entire vacant frontage on east side Barlow between Furlow and Hill, 5 lots each 75 x 185 ft; Emmett Bolton bought one of Broadhurst's lots on Barlow "and will build...there upon shortly" Sept 1900 Ed Stallings completed large mfg. plant at Furlow crossing on Elm; E.D. Ansley building "commodious storage warehouse" on railroad front near Hill; T.M. Furlow to build corner Barlow and Furlow; R.S. Broadhurst to build his own house, NE corner Barlow and Hill; Colored Masonic Orphanage and Americus Institute under construction Jan. 25,1901 photo of Carter's Grist Mill on College Feb. 1,1901 J.W. Guerry home, in East Americus, burned; house and lot, C.H. Byrd agent for wife Mrs. A.L. Byrd, bounded north by E.D. Ansley's vacant lot, south by vacant lot of Fort, Wallis and Watson, east by Mrs. M.E. Hammond's vacant lot, west by Lee; house and lot, Wells Brown's "on south of Felder...on Alley no name", bounded north by Mrs. E.G. Simmons' vac- ant lot, south by T. Edward Hambleton's lands, east by J.W. Harris', west by an alley Feb. 8,1901 J.N. Carter's on Taylor sold for $1,700; R.L. McMath sold home on Jackson to Eshton Buchanan and bought John Windsor home on Rees Park Feb. 22,1901 Charles Lingo completed house on Brannon; Chas. R. Crisp building house on Brannon; J.B. Felder building house on Brannon and "just completed" another on "Barlow near Brannon" Mar. 8,1901 plans for L.G. Council home, drawn by Denny of At- lanta, costing $20,000 Mar. 22,1901 Sumter City to get depot and Methodist Church Apr. 12,1901 Will McNeill soon to finish E. Church home "part of old Hawkins property"; L.G. Council property "being graded" Apr. 19,1901 fire at P.R. Stanfield's, 119 Finn; Providence Spring archway constructed by Miller & Clark, of Americus May 3,1901 Johnson & Harrold to build new warehouse, corner Hampton and Wheeler, connecting to existing build- ing May 17,1901 Plains Methodist Church began; Geo. Van Riper's 405 Barlow, roof burned, owned by J.B. Felder July 1901 Aaron Cohen bought Murphey Bldg., 3-story, on Lamar, formerly occupied by D. Pearlman; Chambliss Ware- house completed, annex 60 x 35 ft July 26,1901 H.L. Mize to erect corner Church and Lee, "site of old frame building on east side, near Feagin resi- dence" Aug. 1901 exterior work on Council house "being completed" Aug. 17,1901 Sumter City Methodist Church begun Aug. 20,1901 A.C. Bivins to build 2 houses on vacant lot, corner Brannon and Lee Sept 1901 Tim M. Furlow preparing to build "on old lawn pro- perty", corner Barlow and Furlow Sept 11,1901 "Johnson & Harrold Warehouse Company broke dirt yesterday for...first of two mammoth brick fire- proof storage warehouses immediately in...rear of ...building now used as a warehose...will front 180 feet on Wheeler...depth of sixty feet on...railroad front" Oct. 1901 Plains bank "soon...ready to begin business"; T.M. Furlow erecting "on lawn property"; McNeill erecting home on "site of the old Dr. S.B. Hawkins dwelling on Church...east" Nov. 1901 Geo. A. Nix's "just completed...part of former Barlow property out Lee" Jan. 1902 T.M. Furlow's just completed, SE corner Barlow and Furlow Feb. 1902 Hugh L. Mize's 2 residences on Lee, near Church; Lee Allen bought H.J. Fite's on College, on "emi- nence" at head of Jackson; plans drawn for 2- or 3-story building fronting Lamar, 100 ft south on Jackson Feb. 21,1902 "Mr. and Mrs. L.G. Council occupied yesterday their palatial residence at Church and Brown" Feb. 23,1902 "M.S. Holliday...will erect...building...two or three stories, fronting...Lamar...running back a hundred feet south on Jackson...plans...being pre- pared" Summer 1902 Will H.C. Dudley's on Lee in Leeton, next old F.E. Burke place; Holliday's Book Store Bldg., SE corner Jackson and Lamar June 1902 Macon Dudley's on Lee next to Col. W.T. Lane July 1902 6 lots on Barlow behind Judge Z.A. Littlejohn's, 3 to Will R. Allen, 1 each to John B. Ansley, Mrs. J.B. Felder and J.D. Wagner July 19,1902 groundbreaking for Virginia-Carolina Chemical Co. plant off Oak Sept 1902 John H. Rodgers bought vacant lot 125 ft on Lee, site of old W.J. Barlow home in Leeton; A.J. Hamil bought old Taylor homestead, SE corner Dudley and Lamar, moved house from center of lot to nearer Dudley corner and began building 2 other houses fronting Lamar Oct. 1902 new street between Forsyth and Lamar fronting pro- perty of Whitley Grocery Co.; W.E. Hamilton bought W.H. Simmons place, NE corner Furlow and Lee Nov. 21,1902 G.W. Glover sold his residence on Lee to Charles M. Council for about $10,000 (Council's moved in Mar. 1903) Jan. 1903 3 new houses on Barlow, near College, Mrs. J.B. Felder's, W.R. Allen's and J.D. Wagner's, last va- cant lots between College and Taylor Jan. 16,1903 "C.S.S. Horne, who purchased recently...building lot on Church...near Oak Grove...is already erect- ing...residence thereon...ready...a month hence... will build a second dwelling upon...lot adjoining" Feb. 1903 Col. W.P. Wallis renovated antebellum P.F. Brown house; Col. W.A. Dodson bought vacant lot corner opposite and planned to build 2 houses there Mar. 1903 paving of Jackson from Windsor south to Seaboard depot near Finn; Calvary Episcopal Church renovated inside and outside Apr. 1903 residence on Lee, south of Hill, to be built; Dr. J.G. Dodson began plans for house, corner Furlow and Lee, next to John T. Taylor's Apr. 25,1903 ADP - C.W. Lamar's on Brown unsuccessful arson try June 1903 Hugh L. Mize completed 2 houses next Judge R.L. Maynard's on Barlow; John H. Rodgers' home complet- ed "out Lee...old Crocker place"; Bosworth tract sold, bounded by Elm, Felder and Hill; black Masons formally dedicated Orphans Home on Rucker; construc- tion began on ice factory near Central Depot June 4,1903 "in process of erection...home of Mr. John H.Rodgers out Lee...close by Mr. G.M. Byne is erecting three ...cottages for renting...In next block Mr. W.H. Howard is greatly improving...two story dwelling, former McLaughlin property...On Barlow...Mr. H.L. Mize is building two...dwellings next that of Judge R.L. Maynard while close by Mr. Emmett Bolton is building...home for himself." Sept 1903 plans drawn for J.G. Dodson residence, corner Furlow and Lee Oct. 1903 street signs installed, white letters on blue back- ground Nov. 1903 C.S.S. Horne and son bought vacant lots on former Hinkle property fronting E. Church Jan. 1904 A.J. Hamil to build several houses on Dudley near Lamar; C.S.S. Horne completing a residence on Church near Oak Grove; H.L. Mize razed old Smith home on Lee, opposite Catholic Church Feb. 1904 3 new brick buildings on old McMath property on Forsyth, owned by Isom R. Cain; E. Church between Brown and Oak Grove widened and leveled; ground- breaking for Glover warehouse on Cotton, Judge R.L. Maynard's home began on Lee, next Dr. G.T. Miller; Church St. widened and leveled between Brown and Oak Grove Mar. 1904 brick warehouse began, NE corner Finn and Jackson, site of old woodyard; M.B. Phillips razed old col- ored hotel behind courthouse July 1904 Arthur Rylander bought "Bosworth land" of 15 lots, bounded by Felder, Henrietta and Hill; J.C. Nicholson bought "east portion of Tullis lot", north side Church, to build 2 houses Aug. 1904 Sheffields donated triangle at Brown and Taylor to city as a park; Taylor to get sidewalks Aug. 11,1904 "Mr. A.J. Hamil has recently completed five...dwel- lings on Lamar and Dudley...Mr. J.C. Nicholson now owns two...dwellings and will shortly build two others on Church...all four...rental...Out Lee... Capt. H.D. Watts is building...home...Capt. Hall has just completed one on Lee...near Dodson. Judge R.L. Maynard is also building...home on Lee, nearly opposite...new residence of Dr. J.G. Dodson" Sept 1904 Mrs. L.E. Vaughn building home on Dodson Sept 6,1904 "C.S.S. Horne is now erecting...residence on Church ...which he will occupy as a home" Oct. 1904 Capt. G.M. Byne building home on College, "near Clarke property", street's last vacant lot Nov. 19,1904 "One of...oldest homes in Americus erected in ante- bellum days and one of...most historic was sold yes- terday. It was...Smithwick house out on "The Lawn" ...purchased by Mrs. E.S. Fowler at...round sum of $2,000" Feb. 1905 W.B. Hudson began erecting 2 houses on "east side of Lee...near Church" Mar. 1905 8 to 10 acre Fairview suburb opened on Forrest and Jackson Ave., south of College; R.E. Allison, et. al., bought vacant Hambleton lot on Jackson and Lamar, opposite Windsor May 1905 Hugh L. Mize's house "on Lee...near Finn", nearing completion; J.W. Stallings began house on Church, next Tullis' Aug. 1905 B.C. Hodges building home on last residential lot east side Rees Park, next Council's Aug. 6,1905 "solid brick walls of...(W.E.) Mitchell stables at Lamar and Hampton...replace a lot of old wooden buildings" Aug. 18,1905 "suburban residence of Mr. Barlow Council is near- ing completion and will be occupied next week" Sept 8,1905 "J.W. Stallings' new residence on Church...is rapid- ly being completed" Sept 22,1905 "last remaining vacant building lot on Jackson... south, has been bought by...J.L. Page and adjoins his own residence."; "residence which Mr. B.C. Hodges is building on Felder..., Rees Park, will be ready for occupancy early in October."; "In addition to purchasing...Ansley residence for $4,000 Dr. T.M. Merritt secured...desirable vacant lot adjoining, paying $500"; "W.C. Carter will begin in a few days now...erection of a new and modern building for... "New Americus Steam Laundry"...building will be of brick, two stories...having a depth of 110 feet and frontage of forty feet on Jackson" Oct. 13,1905 "Mr. and Mrs. J.W. Stallings will occupy today their ...residence on Church...just completed" Jan. 5,1906 "Among...buildings to be erected here this year will be a...three-story structure...plans of which have already been secured." Jan. 12,1906 "A...three-story brick building will go up on Lamar ...at an early date" Feb. 2,1906 "Mr. Tim Furlow has bought a...tract of four acres out Lee...and fronting on Lee, Elm...and two new streets out there." Mar. 30,1906 DeSoto Hotel burned May 1906 C.M. Council razed old laundry and began building on lot bounded by Cotton, Jackson, Jefferson and Wheeler May 11,1906 "Bosworth residence on Rees Park caught fire yes- terday morning at 11:30...and for a time it seemed that old home, one of landmarks of Americus, would be destroyed" May 25,1906 "That long delayed YMCA building is not taking on imposing proportions as expected. A pile of brick and a hole in ground is limit." June 15,1906 "Nearly entire roof of Byne building was carried away" in June 12th storm June 22,1906 "A spacious and most substantial building of con- crete and manufactured stone is to be erected on Lamar...upon site of the old wooden stables occupied by Loving and Mitchell...contract to Americus Tile and Stone Co...frontage of fifty feet and thrice that depth" June 23,1906 "Mr. Lee Allen has just built three...dwellings on Jackson avenue...which will be leased...Mr. J.E. Sheppard has just completed...dwelling on Fairview ...as has Mr. Wm. Harper. Three other dwellings are under contract on Fairview lots...On Hancock ...near by, Mr. McLendon has just finished...home, while other citizens are preparing to build there as well." June 29,1906 "Standard Warehouse Co. has perfected plans...work of excavating for foundation will begin within a few days...corner of Jackson and Finn...three hun- dred feet on Finn...one hundred and ____ feet on Jackson"; "Mrs. Marion Sims has very nearly comple- ted...dwelling on Church...adjoining her residence" July 19,1906 "to be built right away...several stone dwellings on Elm...built by Mr. H.L. Mize. Already Mr. Mize has completed several frame houses for leasing... Mr. Barlow Council let contract yesterday for two ...dwellings to be erected at corner of Lee and Church...upon former Huling property...old home there was torn away yesterday...Yesterday Mr. P.L. Mize began erection of a...brick store building on Lamar...which he expects to complete by September 1st. It will be two stories, plate glass and iron front...frontage of 24 feet on Lamar...and depth of 100 feet." July 20,1906 "Barlow Council let...contract yesterday for two... dwellings to be erected at...corner of Lee and Church...upon...former Huling property...old home there was torn away yesterday" "large double store now occupied by G.M. Bragg... entire front is to be torn away and...iron and plate glass vestibuled front put in" July 27,1906 "Mr. F.W. Griffin is adding another story to his residence at Church and Prince"; "Mr. Edwin Bell will erect a...residence in a short while upon his property, Cobb corner" Aug. 1906 F.W. Griffin's house and Allison residence opposite completed Aug. 3,1906 "Mr. John W. Shiver, contractor, has just put fin- ishing touches upon eight...new residences out on Jackson avenue"; "Within a week dirt will be broken for...warehouse building...corner of Jackson and Finn" Sept 14,1906 "TO REBUILD A CITY DESTROYED - Burned Out DeSoto To Be Rebuilt With Brick"; "two...residences which Mr. W.E. Brown will erect upon his property on Brown... A one story dwelling there will be removed and two others, two stories each, will be erected in its stead" Nov. 2,1906 "Allison Furniture Co. gave the building contract yesterday...will contain three floors...Architect Curran R. Ellis, of Macon" Jan. 11,1907 Rylander Shoe Co. Bldg., NW corner Jackson and Lamar, $5,000 renovation, "massive marble column supporting ...corner...solid glass front...upon a marble base" Jan. 25,1907 "Mr. Thomas G. Carruthers, of Southern Printing Co., is building...residence on Lee...near Lamar. Some time ago Mr. Carruthers bought the former Speer property" Feb. 1907 Allison Bldg. and 2-story building on its west side completed; Edwin Bell's house at College and Lee Mar. 1907 Lanier home, SW corner Barlow and Taylor, complete- ly rebuilt; Oliver and Horne streets approved by City Council Mar. 8,1907 "foundation walls of...Holliday building on Lamar ...were laid yesterday...two floors...frontage of fifty feet and depth of one hundred...W.E. Hamilton lessee" May 1907 Furlow to be extended through U.B. Harrold's pro- perty west to Forrest; Hugh L. Mize opened Prospect Park; A.J. Hamil's building on Cotton next S.L. Sills'; D.C.N. Burkhalter's home on Jackson, south of A.C. Bivins May 2,1907 Pinkston Co. moving from Cotton to McNeill Bldg., 3-story on Lamar, "entirely remodeled and a solid plate glass front put in...entire length" June 1907 Whitley home on Taylor; Edwin Bell home opposite Furlow Lawn June 14,1907 "WORK ON DODSON STORE TO BEGIN NOW - To Rebuild Granberry Corner - old building is to give place to a modern structure. Tomorrow the front walls will be pulled down, and half...side wall...will put in ...plate glass front...full length...on Lamar...and nearly...length on Jackson" June 23,1907 "Lanier mansion occupies...site of...old Taylor home. Some slight portions of...antiquated house were used in...construction of...present building" July 1907 W.A. Dodson home on S. Lee; YMCA Bldg., NE corner Church and Jackson; John Mathis' completed on Elm Aug. 1907 massive rebuilding of Forsyth side of Allen House to accomodate Americus National Bank; Dodson Bldg., SW corner Jackson and Lamar, completed; Bell home at College and Lee completed; Mitchell Bldg. on Lamar began Sept 1907 W.E. Hamilton Bldg. completed on Lamar opposite Windsor, built by M.S. Holliday Nov. 1907 wholesale grocery building on Lamar, next Chambliss warehouse, almost completed Jan. 1908 Dr. H.S. Crockett to build in Brooklyn Heights; C.J. O'Hagan sold to Mrs. Laura E. Hammond recently completed house on Leeton Heights "near agricultural college" Jan. 22,1908 John Taylor's on Lee just completed and bought by G.W. Glover, "with great columns at front" Feb. 1908 J.C. Sheehan to build house on "vacant lot in Wheat- ley addition, out near former Burke property" on S. Lee; S.L. Sills bought vacant corner lot, Furlow and Hancock, to build 2 homes, frontage 120 ft, depth 200 ft; former Crisp home on Taylor, owned by Mrs. Mary B. Clay, to be "fully renovated"; L.A. Morgan bought vacant corner lot "almost opposite" S.L. Sills'; E.J. Shehan to build 2-story house on S. Lee; A.C. Crockett's on Brooklyn Heights almost complete; Glover Grocery Co. warehouse on Cotton to get 40 x 150 ft addition to "fill gap between ware- house and ice factory"; Mrs. John T. Bragg to build 2-story home on Hancock (completed Apr. 1908); Mrs. P.A. Jackson "enlarged and modernized" her Taylor home next to her sister, Mrs. John P. Cato; Frank A. Hooper bought "original Bivins place" to be "moder- nized and greatly improved"; First Baptist Church erecting "mission church on Elmore...East Americus" Mar. 1908 Kate Thornton bought vacant lot on Harrold, 50 x 200 ft; John T. Taylor's 2 stores on Cotton "having been built shortly after Civil War" had front walls torn down and replaced; J.E. Hightower bought 2 houses on east side Hampton "adjoining (T. Wheat- ley's) residence property...Mr. Wheatley having erected them three or four years ago"; Dr. Charles P. Davis bought from Mrs. Laura D. Clark "cottage on Jackson avenue, completed several months ago", corner of Hill; J.E. Mathis improved his residence on Lee Apr. 1908 Mrs. L.E. Vaughn's on Dodson "facing S.A.L. shops" has new veranda and interior construction June 1908 YMCA Bldg. completed; J.T. Cotney erecting 2-story brick building "opposite postoffice" on Forsyth; Church now paved from cemetery to Hampton; horse racing track constructed at foot of Church; house being built "upon lot next the Joiner property on Church" July 1908 R.E. Allison completed 6-room house on Church, "op- posite his present residence"; Dr. W.S. Prather completing house on Barlow "near Furlow" Aug. 1908 Miss Lula Hay to build house on "only remaining va- cant lot on Church...near business center...fronts nearly sixty feet on Church...next the residence of Mr. J.W. Stallings" (completed Nov. 1908); Dr. F.A. Thomas "adding largely to his residence on Taylor"; old library building moved to Presbyterian Church "and converted into a Sunday School annex" Sept 1908 J. Roscoe Parker to build 1-story house on vacant lot on Lee "next residence of Capt. W.E. Wood, fronting 85 feet on Lee, with a depth of 200 feet" near Dodson; Claude Schneider to build house on va- cant lot corner Furlow and Hancock (detailed de- scription Dec. 18,1908); new Muckalee Creek bridge on Church road Sept 3,1908 "In connection with extension of Forsyth...east to Mayo..., as proposed by Mr. Crawford Wheatley... Mr. Maughs, representing Cobb estate...investigated ...course of...extension and found that it would be feasible to donate right of way" Oct. 1908 H.B. Mashburn began 1-story, 6-room house on S. Lee next Roscoe Parker's, "fronts 85 feet on Lee, near corner of Dodson" Oct. 1,1908 "Actual work on...Carnegie library...was begun yes- terday" Nov. 1908 William L. English to build 2-story house "next residence of Mr. T.F. Gatewood (#410)...on College ...east", with frontage of 80 ft; Messrs. Kelly erecting 2-story brick building fronting Cotton, corner of Wheeler; city to erect new house for Oak Grove sexton, corner Church and Rees, "immediately opposite west, or main entrance" Nov. 15,1908 architect's rendering of Carnegie Library Dec. 1908 Dr. W.S. Prather building 2-story, 3-bedroom house "further out Lee", beyond Parker's and Mashburn's (detailed description of all three homes Dec. 16, 1908) Jan. 21,1909 Crystal Ice Co. to erect brick building "on Cotton ...near Central depot"; Lee St. road straightened from 2 to 3 miles "from old Price farm...to former Herndon farm" Feb. 4,1909 H.R. Johnson's, on Lee between Mathis and Perry, destroyed by fire; J.N. Kiker's, on Taylor, damaged but not destroyed, by fire Feb. 11,1909 "probable erection of...three story building...cor- ner Forsyth and Jackson...by Mr. Ansley; Carnegie Library "approaching completion" Feb. 18,1909 J.O. McArthur to build $3,500 home on Lee (comple- ted Sept. 1909) Feb. 25,1909 work began on Federal Bldg. (now Municipal Bldg.) Mar. 4,1909 C.J. Clark tore down old house to build stucco home "next Clark's marble yards at Jackson and Finn" (completed Sept. 1909) Mar. 11,1909 W.S. Roach's on Lee remodeled "adding several rooms"; Little & Phillips, contractors on Carnegie Library Mar. 25,1909 J.W. Shiver, contractor, to build 2-story house next Harrold's on Lee, followed by house between Apr. 1,1909 DeSoto to get Methodist Church Apr. 15,1909 L.A. Morgan began house on W. Furlow, near Hancock Apr. 22,1909 completion of Glessner from Lee to A & M College; Wirz Monument erected in Andersonville, with photo May 6,1909 Farmers Oil Co. to erect 2 brick buildings, 1 gin, 1 office, between Church and Spring June 3,1909 Furlow School to be completely renovated by T.F. Lockwood, architect, while East Americus to be built and Dr. Black's acquired for Brooklyn Heights June 17,1909 Lee Allen's on College at Jackson extensively remod- eled July 1909 Alderman C.J. Clark's "fast nearing completion" on Jackson; several dwellings "going up" on Jackson Ave. July 8,1909 plans drawn for Country Club July 22,1909 apartment building to replace H.R. Johnson's on Lee, T.L. Granberry, contractor July 29,1909 First Baptist Parsonage "considerable portion com- pleted", next T.F. Gatewood, fronting south on Col- lege, 8 large apartments, to be completed by Sept., and occupied by Dr. Lansing Burrows Aug. 1909 "good progress" constructing Johnson apartment house on Lee; "colonial" residence of Mr. H.S. Lee improved by "addition of wide verandas"; Dr. Lansing Burrows' "rapidly nearing completion" Aug. 5,1909 Messrs. Harrold contracted for bungalow on Harrold, "next new dwelling recently occupied by Mr. J.C. White"; Aaron Cohen bought Page residence, opposite Furlow School, for $4,250 Aug. 12,1909 Country Club application for incorporation Aug. 14,1909 "new residences of Mr. C.J. Clark and Mr. Lee Allen are being pushed to completion" Aug. 19,1909 Dr. E.T. Mathis to build home on his farm (destroyed by fire Jan. 24,1961) Sept 21,1909 "second bungalow erected by Mr. Frank P. Harrold, on Harrold...is nearing completion" Oct. 1,1909 J.L. Sparks bought vacant lot on Lee, opposite Wheatley, between Bivins and Hamilton Oct. 7,1909 T.F. Lockwood, of Columbus, has plans for Rees Park School, to cost $20,000 Nov. 18,1909 lease for Country Club with plans by T.F. Lockwood Nov. 25,1909 fire wiped out 6 acres along Bay, between Jackson and Lee, Americus Construction Co.; J.W.L. Daniel bought Sherlock property, "out Lee...opposite Judge J.A. Hixon", for $1,650 Dec. 2,1909 Country Club dues, etc.; Little & Phillips, of Cor- dele, got contract for Rees Park School to be done by Aug. 1910 Jan. 6,1910 Harrold Ave. block between College and Furlow, S to N: W.M. Humber, A.N. Walker, 2-story, bungalow, Clarence White Jan. 13,1910 Americus Construction Co. rebuilt, corner Bay and Jackson Jan. 20,1910 Mrs. C.P. Sams sold home on Lee to Misses Eliz., Mary and Julia Worthy, for $4,000 Feb. 1910 "Material is upon ground" for W.A. Humber and L.O. Gartner on Harrold; "work has begun" on J.J. Dupree's on Hancock, just south of Furlow; Allen Hill bought lot next Shiver's on Lee to build in summer Mar. 1910 R.S. Broadhurst "will begin soon" 8-room house, NE corner Barlow and Hill; former Dr. Mathis home on Lee being renovated for Mrs. Welborn Clark as board- ing house; L.P. Gartner's and 2 other bungalows, west side Harrold, leave one vacant 50 foot lot; E.D. Patterson to build, corner Hill and Jackson, bought from C.L. Ansley Mar. 16,1910 "old Mims store at...corner of Church and Lee... one of...landmarks of Americus, is to be swept away ...new and modern brick building will soon occupy that very prominent and desirable corner" Mar. 17,1910 R.S. Broadhurst has T.F. Lockwood plans for house fronting 225 ft on Barlow, also to erect 2 1-story cottages on Barlow opposite Hospital Mar. 24,1910 Masonic Orphanage severely damaged by lightning Mar. 31,1910 John W. Shiver to build R.S. Broadhurst's 2-story house and Allen Hill's on Lee "next to that of Mr. Shiver"; Magnolia Dell pavilion destroyed by fire Apr. 1910 4 dwellings on Barlow completed by Messrs. Poole; brick building "will soon be erected" on vacant lot next steam laundry on Jackson Apr. 7,1910 L.A. Morgan bought 200-acre farm south end Forrest extension "adjoining former A.C. Bell place now owned by Mr. S.R. Johnson" Apr. 8,1910 cornerstone ceremony for Rees Park High School Apr. 14,1910 C.L. Ansley had T.F. Lockwood redesign and remodel old brick building, SW corner Forsyth and Jackson Apr. 21,1910 Thos. Harrold bought vacant lot on College, front 110 ft, with Davenport house, for $3,500; W.W. Dykes bought Harrold home for $5,750; L.D. Lockhart bought Dykes home for $3,000, fronting 102 ft and "will greatly improve" Apr. 29,1910 Mrs. Ben Jossey to build 2-story on Bungalow Row, NW corner Furlow and Harrold;L.P. Gartner's 2-story "now under way";"Yesterday Mr. I.L. Rowlson and Mr. W.M. Humber, for whom two...bungalows were built, moved into their homes" May 1,1910 "AMERICUS' NEW POSTOFFICE COMPLETED", George Beck- ing, contractor May 3,1910 "Mrs. W.W. Wheeler bought a lot yesterday opposite Seaboard depot, and Contractor J.W. Shiver will build her a home thereon." May 5,1910 U.S. Post Office opened May 12,1910 C.L. Ansley razed former Boone-Kendrick Bldg., and had T.L. Granberry build new one with Lockwood's plans; Mrs. M.T. Elam moved next door after almost 50 years May 26,1910 Bank of Commerce bought old post office June 1910 J.A. Tarver "completing" house on Forsyth, East Americus; Thomas Harrold "will begin at once", 9- room colonial residence next Johnson's on College June 2,1910 "This morning work will begin on" Allen & Hawkins' 2-story brick building on Jackson opposite library, plans by Lockwood, "front...of...red hard pressed brick, with heavy trimmings of Indiana limestone"; DeSoto Banking Co. "one-story brick bank building is now being erected at corner of Ferguson and Railroad avenues, by depot...proposed to open... July 15th." June 15,1910 "Thomas Harrold is moving into his bungalow...on College...today...No one who saw...old cottage re- moved to this site imagined that it could be recon- structed into...dwelling as it now is...has had... propositions to lease...when his new home, to be erected alongside, is completed." June 22,1910 "old building...to be demolished to make way for... Ansley building, was erected many years ago as a banking house...roof...torn away yesterday...walls will tumble today" June 28,1910 "new residence of Mr. Will C. Sullivan on Church... is almost complete...one of...many bungalows here." (destroyed by fire June 10,1977) July 14,1910 interior renovation for Bank of Commerce, Plains Methodist Church cornerstone ceremony July 21,1910 Frank Lanier began fertilizer plant "between Spring and Church...near Farmer's Oil Co. plant" Aug. 18,1910 W.J. Thornton to build 2-story, 8-room house on va- cant lot "next H.R. Johnson's", 60 foot front off Mrs. E.P. Morgan's, on College Aug. 25,1910 W.T. Mims' store to be razed, 105 ft on Church to Lee corner Sept 1910 Crawford Wheatley's bungalow "will shortly adorn" W. Church, next Mrs. C.V. Huntington; John B. Ansley began house on Lee; H.D. Watts' "small cottage" com- pleted, east of Lee; Finn sidewalks paved Sept 15,1910 S.H. Young bought 11 acres on Lee St. road, "almost opposite Americus Country Club", from W.H.C. Dudley; Mrs. Fred Davenport's on Taylor, built by J.W. Shiver, to be occupied by R.E. McNulty; Shiver also building "cottge home" for Mrs. E.A. Williams, Brooklyn Heights, on McGarrah, 5 rooms and a hall; Neon Buchanan bought for $13,000 from J.W. Wheatley "large double store...corner...Lamar...and Cotton", 2-story with elevator; Thos. L. Bell bought lot to build "next spring", 75 ft on Lee back 450 ft, "just beyond Hill" between James Walker and Edward Everett Sept 29,1910 Windsor Hotel renovated with electric lights, ele- vator, telephones, steam heat at a cost of $75,000 Oct. 1910 Mrs. Brooks building house on Barlow "next Gray property" Oct. 6,1910 J.W. Hightower bought "Mims corner", lot 110 ft square, with northern part bought by W.B. Hudson Oct. 12,1910 L.O. Gammage to build bungalow on Lee opposite T.F. Gatewood Oct. 17,1910 H.J. Fite bought lot next E.B. Everett and will shortly build Oct. 20,1910 J.W. Shiver to build W.J. Thornton's on College; Shiver also erecting 1-story cottage on Barlow for Mrs. J.L. Wilkes; Z.A. Littlejohn's to get 4 large pillars Oct. 27,1910 Thos. Harrold's on College with 4 pillars, to be completed by Dec. 1910 Nov. 3,1910 Commercial City Bank bought Geo. Oliver's store house, SE corner Forrest and Lamar, to build bank next year Nov. 13,1910 photo of Bungalow Row, Harrold Ave., C.J. White's, L.P. Gartner's, Rowlson's, L.H. Brown's and W.M. Humber's; "task of cutting Muckalee hill, for sev- enty years a barrier to Americus, down to...level of a fine road was completed yesterday...now build- ing a road from...east end of Muckalee bridge to... end of Spring street at...railroad crossing" Nov. 17,1910 3 weeks of grading reduced Muckalee Hill and road being built from "east end of Muckalee bridge to end of Spring" Dec. 1,1910 M.M. Lowery to build on Lee "early in spring" Dec. 8,1910 L.B. Lott, of S.C., bought J.B. Mathis home on Church, "recently...very greatly improved"; "Mr. C.L. Ansley is preparing to occupy at once his ...new store at Jackson and Forsyth...now receiving finishing touches." Dec. 22,1910 S.H. Kress bought former Ansley store, 3-story, with $6,000 improvements by Apr. 1,1911 Dec. 29,1910 Lamar in East Americus widened 30 ft "from inter- section of Jefferson...on for half a mile" (now Oglethorpe Ave.) Mar. 1911 G.W. Cannon building 5-room bungalow in Brooklyn Heights; J.J. Holliday "will begin soon" house on Taylor opposite First Baptist Mar. 15,1911 G.H. Buchanan building "commodious" house on Lee "adjoinig former Seig estate, now owned by Mr. E.L. Bell" May 1911 Fred Morgan's on Jackson Ave., corner Furlow and Hill; William Humber "planning" corner Furlow and Harrold; Mrs. Laura J. Bagley "will be" building bungalow on her Taylor property May 17,1911 J.J. Holliday gave contract to Will McNeill, Ameri- cus Construction Co., for home on Taylor May 25,1911 "Oliver warehouse on Lamar...was torn down yester- day", SE corner Forrest and Lamar June 1911 Will C. Carter's 2-story brick building on vacant lot on Jackson next steam laundry "to be built"; Albert Harris "will soon begin" bungalow corner Furlow and Harrold; First Baptist Church completed Sunday School annex (second story added Dec. 1915); Little & Phillips began walls of Commercial City Bank, Forrest and Lamar July 19,1911 "improvements upon old Jackson home, transformed from a battered wreck into a beautiful and attrac- tive residence" in East Americus; J.W. Shiver con- tractor on following: R.H. Vorus' 5-room dwelling on Jackson Ave., near College; Albert Harris' 6-room bungalow, corner Furlow and Harrold; Mrs. M.E. Jossey's bungalow, "which she rented", fronting Lamar "upon her residence property"; Fred Morgan's "nearing completion" on Jackson Ave.; W.H. Humber's bungalow on Harrold; "Mr. Shear...building two ex- tensive ginneries for Mr. R.P. Stackhouse upon two of his farms near the city"; "Mrs. Laura J. Bagley is building...eight or nine-room residence upon her property on Taylor"; "Mrs. Lucy C. Cobb...just com- pleted...bungalow upon her lot on Hancock...near College"; "Mr. J.J. Holliday's...residence on Tay- lor...is progressing well and will be completed and ready for occupancy by October. Mr. W.A. McNeill has the building contract." Sept 1911 M.M. Lowery and P.B. Williford to build bungalows, east side Lee, next T.F. Gatewood's, at Alice; Lon Gammage and A.M. Lewis opposite "contracts...alrea- dy given"; T.L. Bell and W.A. Humber bought last vacant lot on Taylor from A.B. Campbell and both to erect bungalows Sept 7,1911 addition of iron and plate glass front to west half Bell Block, south side Lamar west of Lee Sept 18,1911 first wood creosoted blocks laid at artesian well Oct. 1911 Mrs. S.E. Warlick completed $6,500 renovation of Albert Harris place on Church; Barlow Council over- hauling former Warlick place on Lee; Logan Wallace bungalow on Furlow near Lee about completed; Mrs. T.S. Warlick to erect bungalow on Hancock for rent; C.S.S. Horne to build 3 houses on W. Church; W.A. Humber bungalow on Taylor near Rees Park and Mrs. Laura Bagley's residence "near completion"; Mrs. M.T. Elam gave building contract for 2-story house on east side of her property on Church, next C.B. Raines (razed 1999); Joseph E. Johnson "will erect" bungalow at Furlow and Harrold, first lot sold on east side "bungalow row" Oct. 21,1911 iron and plate glass front on Bell Block extended to Lee corner Nov. 1911 Patterson Heights being developed by Sheffield & Allen with George Oliver building 2 houses fronting McGarrah; Ernest Tullis to build on Church, near Jackson, in Dec. or Jan. Nov. 29,1911 J.J. Holliday's on Taylor "just completed" Dec. 1911 Dr. Douglas Mayes "erecting" home on Jackson Ave.; S.C. Kelley's and L.O. Gammage's bungalows on Lee completed Feb. 6,1912 "on Southside city is preparing to extend Glessner ...westward through tract of eleven acres recently purchased by Messrs. T.B. Hooks and D.R. Andrews. Another street running north and south is also con- templated"; "John Sheffield has given contract for ...dwelling which he will build on Brown...upon site of his present home...old dwelling will be moved back upon Horne...and greatly improved...new Sheffield home will cost probably $12,000"; "Judge J.A. Hixon is completing, at a cost of several thousand dollars, entire remodeling of his residence out Lee"; "Work is to be started soon upon residence of Mr. A.C. Crockett, on Lee...next McArthur home... will be of brick"; "Two blocks away Mr. F.G. Beavers is preparing to build two or three dwellings for renting...to be completed early in summer."; "On College...Mrs. W.K. Bell is converting former R.L. Bivins residence into a...modern one, to be occupied as a home"; "Mrs. Maude Smith will build a bungalow nearby for her own use."; "Rev. R.L. Bivins has just occupied his new residence on Harrold"; "On Brooklyn Heights Mr. George Oliver has recently completed a number of cottages for renting"; "In East Americus, Mrs. S.C. Mathews is completing several...small dwellings for renting"; On Horne...a number of... bungalows have been completed within...past few months"; "building of...large plant of...Atlantic Coal and Ice Corporation, an investment of $85,000"; "plant of...Southern Art Metal Works, soon to be erected" Feb. 15,1912 "The Triangle", NW corner Brown and Taylor, formal- ly transferred to city by Frank Sheffield Mar. 19,1912 "Mr. J.T. Warren of Americus Coca Cola Co....expects ...start upon new buildings may be made in April... three brick stores, fronting Cotton...on Wild...and in rear of brick block will be erected another and even larger brick building, designed especially... for its bottling plant"(razed 2004) Apr. 10,1912 W.T. Lane bought Sessions' property on Bell to erect 2 5-room cottages Apr. 11,1912 "Charles L. Ansley is...modernizing his...residence on Church...Spacious verandahs at...front side and rear will be added, with other rooms also added... interior will be thoroughly overhauled" Apr. 20,1912 on College, "work has been started" on Mrs. D.T. Wilson's apartment house next her residence May 24,1912 "Mr. Everett Schneider has recently purchased from Mr. S.L. Sills...home on Hancock...and will make his home there after some...improvements have been made." May 29,1912 John Sheffield having plans drawn, 8- or 9-room colonial, with columns, on "site of his present home" on Brown, "old dwelling will be put back one block...made to front Horne" May 30,1912 "foundation walls for brick building to be erected by Americus Coca Cola Co....were laid yesterday... Mr. G.T. Porter has...contract." June 5,1912 "E.C. Parker will modernize and...improve his... residence on Taylor...next to...Z.A. Littlejohn." June 9,1912 H.H. Halliday, president of Carolina Development Co., of Greensboro, N.C., bought former Price place "fronting Lee street road and Elm...extending back eastward to Seaboard railway", 45 acres, with "streets...laid out through...tract, fronting 1,400 feet on Lee and Elm" June 25,1912 "W.A. Ayash will remove...dwelling on...corner lot to...west side, next to Mrs. Elam's...convert it into a modern and attractive residence" July 10,1912 Mrs. D.T. Wilson "is having built" residence on College; 8-room dwelling on Forrest and Furlow; W.M. Humber "is completing" bungalow on Horne near Rees Park; Cotney residence, NW corner Church and Hinkle; Harrold bungalow on Harrold; J.E. Johnson bungalow nearby Aug. 28,1912 "Van Riper home on Hancock...is being repainted"; "Episcopal rectory on Lee...being repaired and painted...soon to be occupied by Dr. Percy W. Jones...grounds...will also be improved."; "Shiver Apartment house on College...being repainted and renovated" Sept 7,1912 "Mr. and Mrs. Elton C. Parker are again occupying their residence on Taylor, recently modernized and greatly improved in appearance." Sept 12,1912 J.E. Johnson moved into "new residence", corner Furlow and Harrold Sept 19,1912 another story added to Mitchell Bldg. on Lamar; W.B. Worthy and F.G. Beavers to build at Hancock and Hill Nov. 12,1912 "large front porch with columns and banisters has been added to...home of Mrs. M.J. Taylor on Taylor ...Painting and other renovating work is also being done"; "home of S.L. Hammond is being largely re- built and painted."; "home of Thomas W.A. Ayash on Church...is...being remodeled."; "On Barlow...mod- ern bungalow is being constructed for J.E. Prather."; "McCay school building is being repaired and painted." Nov. 13,1912 "material is being put upon...ground" for Rev. R.L. Bivins' "next...old Harrold home and opposite that of Mr. Gartner" Nov. 20,1912 C.S.S. Horne "has built" 4 or 5 bungalows on Horne "near Church"; "south end is building up as well"; "Shelton Harris has for some weeks occupied...six- room bungalow near...Wheatley residence"; "Lee Allen is now adding...finishing touches to...bungalow, near Harris...for rent"; "William Humber has had plans drawn for a six or seven-room bungalow...he will erect at once near...Allen property" Feb. 13,1913 "Joseph Poole, who recently purchased...Brown lot ...is preparing to build a residence...which he will occupy...will be two stories" (#309 E. Church razed 1993) Feb. 20,1913 ""This morning, just thirty years ago, I laid first brick in erection of that building," said Mr. R.J. Perry yesterday, pointing to...A.W. Smith store", SE corner Forsyth and Jackson, "first one to be erected on..."courthouse square"" May 3,1913 pre-dawn fire destroyed fifth-floor roof of Windsor Hotel June 27,1913 "Sheffield...now receiving...finishing touches" Oct. 24,1913 Lee to be paved from Lamar to city limits, 1 1/2 miles south Oct. 29,1913 groundbreaking for Dodson St. Hospital Dec. 17,1913 cornerstone ceremony for Dodson St. Hospital Mar. 26,1914 Rylander's Corner for 25 years, bought by J.W. Hightower from Wheatley Estate Oct. 27,1914 C.M. Wheatley's "is to undergo an entire renovation at...hands of artisans and painters, and thus mod- ernized...will be removed near...west boundary line" Feb. 12,1915 "J.C. DENHAM TO BUILD HOME ON FELDER STREET", oppo- site J.W. Harris residence, B.C. Hogue, architect and contractor Feb. 17,1915 "Mr. and Mrs. C.M. Hale will begin erection shortly of...cottage upon lot immediately west of Mr. Charles L. Ansley's home, which they hope to have ready for occupancy by May 1." Mar. 9,1915 "addition of a second story to...Tower residence... house will be raised up considerably" Feb. 20,1916 G.L. Williams' on Church remodeled Mar. 9,1916 Jesse E. Cannon completing 2 5-room bungalows on Oglethorpe Apr. 6,1916 Dr. H.H. Glover bought lot north of Cloyd Buchanan on S. Lee Apr. 9,1916 C.A. Schneider bought lot on Harrold to build May 14,1916 Buchanan Apts., imitation brick, on Jackson almost completed May 15,1916 C.A. Chambliss to add second story to home on Bar- low near Taylor May 19,1916 L.W. Brown's new home on Lee has outside finished Sept 25,1916 C.A. Schneider to begin building on Harrold Oct. 15,1916 "W.W. McNeill...recently closed a contract with C.A. Schneider to build...one-story bungalow...cor- ner of Harrold...and Furlow...work to begin on same at once" (completed Feb. 4,1917) Jan. 12,1917 work began on filling station across Lee from City Hall Feb. 16,1917 "G.E. Buchanan...building a new brick storage ware- house in rear of his Cotton avenue store...now nearly completed." Mar. 19,1917 G.W. Israel, Sr's. 34-year-old home burned near Sumter City Mar. 21,1917 Furlow Lawn Baptist Church began brick veneer plus 14-room annex Apr. 9,1917 "work on new academic building at Third District A & M College will be begun in about two weeks" May 6,1917 V.M. Holloway building new front and side porch at 206 S. Jackson, J.W. Shiver contractor; Henry G. Stanfield contracted to paint interior recently re- modeled Rehoboth Baptist Church May 9,1917 J.S. Bolton bought vacant lot north of Mrs. Slappey east side Lee, "to build...residence...during sum- mer months" May 22,1917 Henry J. Webb's burned at Sumter City; Dr. G.W. Bagley and W. Frank Ferguson completed 2 buildings at DeSoto June 5,1917 W.T. Lane remodeling house on Lee June 13,1917 "second floor of...Eldridge block on Jackson...is being remodeled to be used for office purposes... stairway is to be constructed between...Planter's Seed Company and Hay & Tillman's...corridor running ...entire depth of...building...on...second floor. Additional windows are being put in on...front... completed not later than September." July 15,1917 "Mr. and Mrs. W.W. McNeill and family are now occu- pying their new residence on Brown...not yet quite completed." Aug. 9,1917 "John T. Bragg has recently added a room and porch to his residence on Hancock" Aug. 26,1917 "John W. Shiver has contracted with Mrs. W.C. Barrow to build...six-room bungalow on Hancock...to be fin- ished by October first." Sept 3,1917 "J.W. Shiver has closed a contract to build for Mrs. E.L. Spann...five-room bungalow at Plains. Work... will begin at once." Sept 4,1917 "W.W. McNeill...building...bungalow of six rooms for Misses Gertrude and Rosalie Smith, corner Hancock... and Bell...completed about October first" Oct. 10,1917 "work of remodeling the Leslie Methodist church will soon be completed." Oct. 24,1917 "Barlow Council cottage on Lee and Church...being renovated preparatory to being occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Will Green Turpin." Nov. 9,1917 fire destroyed W.C. Carter's, E.B. Council's and W.G. Turpin's (#'s 201,203,207 S. Lee) Nov. 19,1917 "Barlow Council will rebuild...on site occupied by his residence...recently burned, and an architect is now...drawing plans" Dec. 2,1917 "Buchanan Grocery Company are repairing their store where they were burned out a few days ago...Neon Buchanan is superintending" Jan. 4,1918 "Barlow Council cottage on Lee and Church...is in course of repair and now nearing completion." Sept 12,1918 "Work...resumed on Lawson Stapleton building on Jackson" Feb. 9,1919 "Mr. and Mrs. Barlow Council will move into...new home...Wednesday of this week" Feb. 16,1919 G.A. and W.G. Turpin bought old "Buzzard's Roost" to raze and replace with 2-story brick to "build before summer" Feb. 19,1919 fire at 217 Brown damaged roof Apr. 19,1919 "BUILDING PERMITS - D.F. Pughsley, Forsyth, between Lamar and Strife, new, $1,000" June 22,1919 C.H. Burke and W.M. Humber to build warehouse, 100 x 100 ft, on site of old Dudley Field ballpark on Hampton July 13,1919 Rylander Theatre announcement by Walter Rylander July 16,1919 "W.W. Dykes...moved from...College street home into ...S.H. Hawkins property, two doors to...west... will occupy pending...erection of...new home on... site of...residence...just vacated...present one- story house will be razed at once and a two-story frame structure erected immediately...Ben Hogue will have charge of removing...old building and erecting ...new one." July 25,1919 "W.J. Thornton...orders...erection of a duplex apartment house...for rental purposes...plans... drawn by T.F. Lockwood...two apartments, will be erected in a vacant lot...in rear of the home of Dr. J.W. Chambliss" Aug. 7,1919 "Carpenters are engaged today in demolishing "Buz- zard Roost,"...under direction of John W. Shiver." Aug. 17,1919 McCord Prather's $10,000 remodeling of former Strand Theatre on Lamar, A. Ten Eyck Brown, of Atlanta, architect, renamed Alcazar with 700 seats Aug. 24,1919 "Contracts were closed yesterday whereby $19,000 will be spent on two Sumter homes. Twelve thousand dollars will be spent for building a new farm home for J.W. Howard, four miles south of Americus, and $7,000 will be spent in remodeling home of George R. Ellis here." Sept 1,1919 Dr. W.S. Prather's statement on his group's invest- ment offer for YMCA Bldg. Sept 9,1919 George Goepp bought Alf Bell's 2-story home on S. Forrest/Oak Ave. Sept 12,1919 "Ground will be broken next week on...new Turpin automobile building" Oct. 1,1919 "Work is proceeding rapidly on...filling station on ...vacant lot just west of...Planters Bank...ready for use by October 15" (razed May 1937) Oct. 28,1919 T-R Bldg., 1-story brick, fronting 40 ft on Forrest, T.F. Lockwood, architect, built by Walter Rylander Nov. 21,1919 L.E. Holloway to build bungalow, corner Glessner and Lee July 27,1920 "W.J. Thornton...completed plans...for remodeling and rebuilding residence...which has been occupied by Dr. J.W. Chambliss...into a double apartment... to start next week...ready...by September 15, or October 1 at latest. Four garages, to serve both apartment houses, will be erected in rear" May 19,1922 "G.O. Loving...exhibited...blueprint of...filling station...to occupy...lot recently purchased by him at...corner of Lee and Church...blueprint...execu- ted by W.C. Randolph, Jr., of Americus" Oct. 11,1922 D.R. Andrews let contract for $30,000 brick, 2- story, 9-room, green tile roof, sleeping porches, W.H. Little, of Cordele, architect, "vacant lot ad- jacent and east of his present residence" on Taylor Aug. 6,1923 J.H. Thurmond's bungalow, by J.W. Shiver, to begin "at once", Hill and Jackson Ave. Sept 15,1923 Henry P. Everett's home on Brown converted to twin apartments by J.W. Shiver Dec. 3,1924 M.S. Holliday's, SE corner Jackson and Lamar, being remodeled for $10,000 by F.W. Woolworth Co., "front ...fitted with...plate glass...entrance...changed ...building lengthened fifteen feet from...rear" Nov. 7,1925 "G.O. Loving...just closed...for two lots...one... located on Brooklyn Heights...bought from board of education...other...what is known as...old Sandy Hill place and...lot on...corner...bought from Mrs. Heidt...purchase price...$2,750...will begin next week to construct at a cost of $8,000, two filling and service stations...Brooklyn Heights...on route three and...road to Columbus...other...on...Dixie Highway and...road to Cordele" Apr. 24,1926 "One of...most complete...service stations...was opened today on...Lee and Lamar...corner by... Standard Oil company" June 26,1926 "Doctors' building...corner of Jackson and Church ...has been purchased by Drs. Thad, Bowman and Sam Wise, of Plains, from...former owners, Dr. W.S. Prather, Dr. L.F. Grubbs, and Dr. Glenn, now a resi- dent of Texas" July 3,1926 "medical building will be begun...within...next ten days...by Dr. W.S. Prather...Plans...have already been completed...inside court with...main entrance on Jackson...cost...between $15,000 and $20,000." (Prather Clinic razed July 1977) Dec. 15,1927 Pruitt Apartments grand opening (#207 S. Lee) Mar. 2,1928 "new front in...men's clothing store of A. Cohen and Son is nearing completion...including new show windows" Oct. 3,1928 Sumter Rayon Mill completed, NW corner Dudley and Lamar, B.B. Kent Construction Co., contractor, 50 x 150 ft, 2-story brick Mar. 19,1929 Americus Baking Co. moved back into "fireproof, sanitary building", Cato Bldg. on Forsyth, after January fire Apr. 18,1929 Mr. and Mrs. Hill Kelly moved into Wilson & Still home on Bell; Fred Markett's, by Wilson & Still, completed within year, SW corner Hill and Harrold, with "steep gables, side porch, uncovered street entrance" Apr. 24,1929 Hilliard Alcott's, on Bell, "being constructed" by Wilson & Still, "tapestry brick cemented in black with dark red tile terrace and covered arch entrance" Apr. 26,1929 J.R. Wall's, on McGarrah, completed, 1 1/2-story, frame, high sloping roof, wide veranda with square columns, "portica on one side" Apr. 29,1929 Dr. A.E. Drew's completed, on Burke, by Weldon Coleman, contractor, 1 1/2-story brick, tiled ter- race on east side May 1,1929 Howard Bankston's, SW corner alley and Hill, between Harrold and Hill, by Wilson & Still, frame, sloping roofs, "double windows on either side of a Dutch colonial entrance and a porch on...east side" May 2,1929 J. Gordon Feagin's "almost ready", NW corner Bell and Hancock, "doing work himself...building an old Southern style home in miniature, using a wide ver- anda supported by square columns across front" May 7,1929 R.B. Sumner's "recently constructed", NE corner Alice and Burke, square frame, by Wilson & Still, "Latticed posts support a generous side porch and a brick terrance leads to a colonial doorway" May 22,1929 W.D. Moreland's, constructed by Gordon Lumber Co., east side Harrold between Bell and Hill, "occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Willis and family", small porch, dormer windows May 23,1929 permit issued to D.M. Still, contractor, to build home for John L. Ross, 204 W. Dodson, "Work will begin at once"; Miss Martha Wheatley's, by Weldon Coleman, east side Forrest, 57 ft. north of Forrest and Furlow, frame with wide front porch and double posts Nov. 10,1929 "George C. Renneka, wealthy Chicago businessman... recently erected...mansion on Smithville road...to confer with B. Kent, contractor...intention of occu- pying...just as soon as it is completed." Nov. 13,1929 Sumter Oil Co. erecting $5,000 service station, corner Church and Lee; Dr. W.S. Prather erecting $10,000 "combination filling station and garage with a demonstration room for new Studebaker", cor- ner Church and Jackson Feb. 1931 $2,000 fire damage to attic of S.H. McKee home on Rees Park Mar. 6,1931 Congressman Charles R. Crisp announced $100,000 third floor addition to post office Mar. 16,1931 Georgia Power Co. store, 134 Lamar, "Work...began March 1...will be completed about April 15" June 14,1931 C.R. Whitley's 2-story, 224 Taylor, damaged by fire June 25,1931 post office "wing that now extends several feet north of...main building...will be extended twenty feet farther back and another story will be added" July 30,1931 "CORNER STORE IS REMODELED - Tillman, Brown, And Miss Tillman to Move Aug. 15" Feb. 5,1932 "CONTRACT FOR ELEVATOR LET - Post Office Elevator Costs $5,645" June 22,1932 "Work on...post office is progressing more rapidly ...steel beams on...third floor are up...brick work should be finished by...last of this week...new process of cleaning brick will be employed...in or- der to make all...brick alike." July 18,1932 "All brick and stone work on...outside of...post- office building will be finished this week...Work has already begun on...steel beams of...roof" Nov. 18,1932 Kent Construction began Frank Sheffield, Jr., brick veneer, 1 1/2-story, 3-room upstairs, on Brown Jan. 9,1933 "POST OFFICE TO BE MOVED ON TUESDAY" Mar. 8,1933 "AND HENCE IT WAS CALLED STRIFE ST." May 4,1933 "Considerable improvements are being made to...for- mer residence of W.M. Humber, on Taylor...vacant several months since...Humber moved to Albany...now ...property of...Union Central Life Insurance" May 9,1933 "two-story building formerly occupied by Church- well's...on Lamar...is being completely remodeled ...will be divided into two separate store rooms... entire front...has been taken down...small store, approximately 12 1/2 feet wide, will be cut off on ...west side and will have a separate entrance... remainder...50 feet wide, will be made into one store room." Aug. 5,1933 "LOCAL PROJECT APPROVED FOR FEDERAL FUNDS - ...ex- tension of Forsyth...thru...old warehouse property of Council and McGarrah and thru...Dudley pine grove to...Cental of Georgia tracks, where a con- crete bridge is to be erected and...road extended along...edge of...Dell property and join...Smith- ville road near...top of...hill" Oct. 7,1933 "Americus will receive $165,000 for an overhead bridge over...Central of Georgia...tracks, exten- sion of Forsyth" Oct. 11,1933 "Forsyth...will be extended through...stores on Cotton...that face it, through...old Parker Ware- house...old ball park and Burke Warehouse, then across...old Dudley property...in...future Lamar ...will be extended and join Forsyth" Dec. 1,1933 TCN - M.H. Fletcher's on Burke, 6-room brick, D.M. Still, contractor, "being built"; Mrs. James L. Williams' on Burke completed Feb. 3,1934 fire destroyed "large portion" of roof of Mrs. B.E. Easterlin's on Rees Park Feb. 23,1934 "Tom Marshall's...new home on...Andersonville road is almost finished" Oct. 24,1934 "G & O Service company leased...vacant lot...For- syth and Cotton...for...immediate erection of... service station" (grandopening Jan. 18,1935) Nov. 9,1934 "Fire...partly destroyed old Will Carter residence on Church...Mrs. W.G. Turpin, Sr....now lives in house" Jan. 22,1935 Lott Bros., corner Cotton and Lamar, "being remod- eled" July 24,1935 "OPERA HOUSE IS PURCHASED - J.J. Holliday Plans to Lease Theatre" Aug. 14,1935 "Plans Announced For New Water Tower" Oct. 3,1935 "Good progress has been made this week on...exca- vations for...foundation of...new water tank" Oct. 19,1935 __L. Fletcher opened "Log Cabin...situated on...new road leading over viaduct" Dec. 12,1935 "Steel work for...new city water tower...has ar- rived and has been placed on...site...old tank will be torn down", R.D. Cole, of Newnan, contractor Dec. 19,1935 contract let for D.M. Still, contractor, to build 1-story frame addition to Rayon Mill, 40 x 150 ft., on north side Aug. 19,1936 G.E. Buchanan's 1-story on W. Lamar, next to Rylan- der Theatre, 18 ft front, 100 ft depth Feb. 6,1936 "Water Tank Likely to Begin in Month" Mar. 28,1936 Wheeler, between Cotton and Jackson, Brannon and W. Church, between Dudley and Hampton, to be paved; E. Furlow, between Elm and Lee, "has been started", Harrold, between College and Furlow, "will be paved this summer" Apr. 7,1936 "Work was started today on...construction of...ser- vice station in...triangle at...intersection of U.S. highway No. 19 and state highway No. 280, at...foot of...overpass...being erected by Frank D. Stapleton ...Will McNeill...contractor...ready...within six weeks...of white stucco...cost...$2,400...of light house design, and will have a revolving electric light in...tower...20 feet square at base, with a round tower" May 14,1936 W.A. Dodson began construction, corner Bell and Hancock; Dr. S.A. Scruggs's 1-story "nearing com- pletion", corner Dodson and Hancock; H.E. Smith "is building" on Dodson, opposite hospital; T.W. Tilton "has erected", on Elizabeth; Charles Wheatley's 2 on Rees, "just prior to...first of year"; Sam Leonard's, on S. Lee, "nearly completed"; James Buchanan's on S. Lee "erected...late in 1935"; "Other new buildings since first of year": warehouse and cutting room, Manhattan Shirt Co., N. Dudley; Glover Grocery Co. storage house on Cotton; G.A. Tye's lumber and woodworking plant, Adderton; F.D. Stapleton's service station, junction Lamar and U.S. 19; "negro residence off West Church...by Shiver Lumber Co."; J.C. Dudley's service station, corner Hampton and Lamar; "largest remodeling and repair permit...to W.A. Hawkins, 1222 South Lee...damaged by fire and water in April"; "more new houses are planned": Smith addition - Cliff Carswell on Han- cock, between Bell and Dodson; Alvin Collins on Bell, between Hancock and Harrold; Dr. A.C. Primrose on Bell, between Hancock and Harrold; William Bell on Hancock, between Bell and Dodson; Stephen Pace on Dodson, between Hancock and Lee July 9,1936 G.E. Buchanan's 1-story, "being erected" on vacant lot between Rylander Theatre and United Grocery Co., 16 ft. on Lamar, 100 ft. depth; Felder, E. Glessner and Wheatley leading to Georgia Southwestern to be paved by Gibson & Robinson, of Donaldsonville (com- pleted Sept. 1936) Sept 30,1936 Charles Lanier to build, former Wheatley property, 3 on Lee, 1 on Furlow, 3 on Hancock, Bryan Merry, of Augusta, architect Oct. 1,1936 "Work was started today on...complete remodeling of...V.H. Cavendar residence, on McGarrah...estima- ted to cost slightly more than $10,000. Birl B. Kent, of Americus...general contractor...brick - veneered...badly burned early this year. Oct. 2,1936 "work has already begun" on 2-story, $17,000 wing to hospital, by B.B. Kent, contractor; Charles Wheatley "is completing...last of three new homes, having already constructed two on Rees...rented to Dr. and Mrs. Abe J. Davis...Mr. and Mrs. Billy Fort ...third...being constructed on W. Church"; "Con- struction will begin soon on Mrs. Walter Rylander's home, to be built between Wheatley lot and Lovelace Eve's home on Lee" Jan. 19,1937 J.W. Lott began service station, Brooklyn Heights, west side U.S. 19, "just north of point where... highway forks, one branch entering traversing... business section...other skirting...city on...west." Jan. 29,1937 Harrold home on College sold to C.B. King, Jr. and S.H. Dykes, with history of old house Feb. 4,1937 TCN - Prather Clinic addition, 28 x 58 ft in rear Feb. 26,1937 J.E. Holloway leased and opened Sinclair service station "Spanish type of construction", intersec- tion U.S. 19 and U.S. 280 Mar. 4,1937 "Bank of Commerce building...entire front...will be remodeled...porch in front...eliminated...two large arches will be closed in with windows and doors... entrance moved to...east side of...front" Apr. 14,1937 "first planned to extend Forsyth...instead of Lamar ...when overpass was constructed two years ago" May 5,1937 Gulf Oil construction, SE corner Forsyth and Wind- sor, "to start within two weeks and be completed within 60 working days", C.H. Wheatley, contractor (razed ca. 1990) June 23,1937 "Clearing of...right of way for...Forsyth...exten- sion has been completed from Lamar...intersection to...rear of...Commercial Warehouse on Hampton... warehouse will be removed within thirty days and... right of way will be open from Hampton...to Lamar ...extension near Central of Georgia overpass... After all buildings are torn down to clear a 60- foot right of way to join Forsyth...at Cotton... road building will begin" June 24,1937 TCN - J.H. Randall's 5-room house, corner Dodson facing Hancock, D.M. Still, contractor Sept 16,1937 TCN - Charles Lanier leased to W.F. Darby, Furlow between Hancock and Lee, "recently completed" (1 of 4), M. Roughgarden bought corner Furlow and Hancock, Ed Heys bought facing Hancock Oct. 28,1937 TCN - work on Hancock extension from Dodson to Glessner "progressing rapidly" Nov. 4,1937 TCN - Mrs. A.G. Ketchum moved to Glover-Council home on S. Lee, for boardinghouse Nov. 18,1937 Fletchers began subdivision at corner Elm and Gless- ner, "known as barbecue grounds" Feb. 7,1938 R.S. Broadhurst, developer of Virginia Heights, be- gan "first of several new houses", west side of "newly opened extension of Hancock", 5-room frame, B.B. Kent, contractor Feb. 26,1938 "FORSYTH ST. EXTENSION TO BE OPEN SOON" Mar. 2,1938 J. Lewis Merritt's "foundation was staked off this morning", 800 block of Hancock, 5-room frame, with basement, east side Hancock Mar. 3,1938 "Among new homes going up here are the following: Lewis Merritt, Hancock avenue; Kent and Broadhurst, C.W. Henderson, Elm avenue; and Jack McGlamery, Crawford street. Miss Frances Shiver is building a negro rent house and Hattie Black, negro, is build- ing a home on Jefferson...Commercial Warehouse is adding a third building to its organization." Mar. 4,1938 T.J. Davis bought for $3,500 from R.S. Broadhurst, 5-room frame "to be completed within...next ten days", on Hancock; "construction will begin Monday" on R.S. Broadhurst's brick-veneer, 1-story, 8-room house, B.B. Kent, contractor, 2 lots north of one sold to Davis; "In about three weeks" R.S. Broadhurst to start rock house, "opposite...one being built now"; "Virginia Heights...opened last summer" Mar. 15,1938 "J.H. Shumake, city marshal, is planning to build a stone and concrete home near his lakes just off Mag- nolia St. near Pope's Place on...Albany Highway... estimated cost...$5,500. Work is expected to begin soon."; Mrs. L.G. Henderson, of Albany, owner of Club Arbor "damaged by fire last fall", remodeled into sandwich shop "with dance hall being eliminated ...repair work...estimated at $1,200." Mar. 23,1938 "Work on...Forsyth...extension is scheduled to be resumed tomorrow, after being delayed for months while...city sought further right of way...workmen will be returned...to complete...task of clearing ...right of way up to Cotton" Mar. 29,1938 "J.W.C. Horne...granted a permit to erect a home on Horne...at...estimated cost of $3,000."; "Charlie Lee Davis is to build a home on West Glessner... estimated cost...$4,000."; "B.B. Kent and R.S. Broadhurst are building another house on...west side...South Hancock...cost...approximately $4,250."; "J.R. McGlamry is building a house on Crawford... estimated cost...$1,000."; "Charles Wheatley is erecting a negro house on Oglethorpe...cost...$250."; "A $500 display room for flowers is being built by Mrs. Russell Speer on McGarrah"; "G.A. Tye & Sons are building an extension on their office...cost... $700."; "A negro dance hall is being erected on Coker...estimated cost...$500."; "Five hundred dol- lars worth of repair work is being done on...home occupied by Robert Arthur...owned by Mrs. Wimberly." Mar. 30,1938 "workmen have completed moving part of...Sokolow grocery store from...Forsyth...extension, and pre- parations are being made to pull down...wall of... New York Cafe Monday" May 3,1938 H.W. Huffman building frame house on Hancock, south of E.L. Carswell, estimated $2,600; Bill Hammond, of Seaboard Airline RR, "brick home is being erected", on Ellis (Elm?), estimated cost $3,300; D.M. Still contractor for both houses May 12,1938 "Work on construction of a new frame residence for Mr. and Mrs. Cliff Carswell, in the 800 block of Hancock...was started this morning...D.M. Still, local contractor." June 17,1938 "Taylor Street Grocery, located in a new building at...corner of Taylor...and Rees Park...will begin business" June 18th July 2,1938 "plans underway for...opening of...Forsyth...exten- sion this fall...J.T. Warren has announced...he will erect a Shell service station on...Forsyth...exten- sion...at...corner of Hampton and Forsyth extension. Workmen are busy erecting an $8,000 Sinclair...sta- tion and parking garage on West Lamar...R.M. Kelley, who is building station, says it will be completed by August 15...Americus Bus Station is now operating from its new headquarters at...Log Cabin...on Macon -Americus-Albany highway with a drive-in station when...Forsyth...extension is opened. George Saliba has opened a lunchroom, The Oasis, in...new bus station." July 16,1938 "Work was started this week on a new story and a half frame residence for Mr. and Mrs. F.L. Butler, in the 200 block of West Dodson...in Morningside subdivision. Construction...is under...supervision of O.W. Loyd and materials are being furnished by G.A. Tye and Sons." July 27,1938 "Several neon signs erected during...past few days ...Two signs...by...Windsor hotel, one large one in front...on Lamar and a smaller one in front of... coffee shop on Windsor...Maher Brothers...large sign in front of...furniture store on Lamar...Lott Bro- thers...two signs at...service station, one on... Lamar...side and one on Cotton...two signs are iden- tical...New York Cafe...neon sign at...corner of... Cotton...and Forsyth" Aug. 19,1938 "Forsyth Street Extension, Americus' new business street, was opened to traffic this morning." Sept 5,1938 "Construction of...home for Prof. S.C. Haddock, superintendent of city schools, on...south side of Bell...between Harrold and Hancock, was begun today. D.M. Still is...contractor for...7-room frame"; "Work will begin...latter part of...week on...home for Luther Ivey, on Bell...to build a 5-room frame ...with George McGarrah as contractor." Oct. 6,1938 "A new home is being built by Frank Wilson on Gless- ner...between Lee...and Elm...Horne Lumber company are contractors for...frame...estimated cost is $3,000." Dec. 13,1938 $3,500 service station being built, NW corner For- syth Hampton; $5,000 service station to begin new year, SE corner Forsyth and Hampton; Holloway Bros. fruit and produce store "recently was opened" on Forsyth extension; J.T. Warren and W.B. Haley brick Shell service station to open new year; $5,000 ser- vice station to begin building new year on 3 lots, SE corner Forsyth and Hampton; remodeling of Wofford Oil Co. station on Felder, between Furlow and Hill; Coca Cola plant on Cotton exterior stuccoed, inter- ior remodeled with tile floors Feb. 28,1939 "Permits were issued": Dr. Harold A. Horne, brick, south side Dodson, between Hancock and Harrold, $4,800; E.J. Everett frame, south side Glessner, between Elm and Georgia Southwestern, $3,000; Mrs. J.R. Butler frame, south side E. Glessner, between Elm and Seaboard RR, $3,000; P.H. Johnson wood building, east side Lafayette, between Park Row and Adderton, $800; Dr. S.F. Stapleton frame, east side N. Jackson, $1,800; Jimmie Lassiter frame, east side Lafayette, between Park Row and Elm (sic), $2,000 Apr. 19,1939 "Work was started this week on" Sam Allen's 1-story, 5-room frame on east side Hancock, in 600 block, with sleeping porch, George McGarrah, contractor May 1,1939 "Demonstration Home" being built on Hancock, B.B. Kent, contractor, lumber from Shiver Lumber Co., in cooperation with "Small Home Demonstation Program" of FHA, 6-room frame "to stimulate and encourage... construction of small low priced homes for people of moderate incomes." May 16,1939 "New homes being built by H.H. Phillips on Glessner ...between Hancock and Harrold; Sam Allen on Han- cock, between Furlow and Hill; Mrs. Hollis Fort, Jr. on Glessner...and Arthur Rylander, on South Lee" Aug. 1,1939 W.E. Mitchell "is constructing" 1-story brick on north side Forsyth, between Cotton and Hampton, "ready for occupancy by September 1"; "Mrs. George Oliver is rebuilding her home, which recently was burned down, on...north side of East Church...be- tween Prince and Oak...new home...of brick and clap board...house which was destroyed was...frame" Aug. 8,1939 "Work has begun on construction of" Hawkins Dykes' frame on Harrold, just off College, $3,000, Horne Lumber and Coal Co., contractor; Sam Perry "is erec- ting" on Horne, $3,000, Horne Lumber and Coal Co., contractor; "R.L. Wiggins is covering...Presbyterian church...cost of...repairs...estimated at $600." Sept 11,1939 old J.W. Harris home on Felder, owned and occupied by C.T. Pope, destroyed by fire, "one of...oldest homes in Americus" Sept 19,1939 Mrs. A.R. Norris "is erecting" concrete block home on W. Furlow, $2,500; J.M. Chappell "is building" frame on Harrold, $3,500; Eddie McNeal's "is being built" on Forrest, $2,000 Nov. 21,1939 "ground was being cleared today for erection of... new Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph exchange on Forrest...supervised by C.T. Pope...W.L. Pippen, Moultrie, who erected...new buildings on...Georgia Southwestern...campus, has been awarded...contract ...three months will be required to erect" Nov. 29,1939 J. Homer Still "to construct" frame on Jackson Ave., between Bell and Hill, $2,000 Feb. 6,1940 W.J. Stevens' frame being built, north side Dodson, between Hancock and Lee, Hays Arnold, contractor Feb. 12,1940 S.S. Belcher's 5-room, brick veneer, 200 block W. Dodson, Geo. McGarrah, contractor; Sam Merritt's to be built, opposite Belcher's Apr. 1,1940 Chas. Wheatley building $1,000 service station, corner Crawford and Oglethorpe; L.D. Kitchens erec- ting $2,000 home on Dudley; Charlie King got permit for $4,500 brick, SE corner, College and Harrold Apr. 19,1940 V.L. Beckwiths move into newly completed home, 128 S. Dudley May 15,1940 C.L. Kearns' $4,000 home, south side Glessner, be- tween Elm and Lee; H.G. Jackson's $4,500 home, west side Hancock, between Dodson and Glessner; George McGarrah, contractor, on both homes May 20,1940 James Chevrolet bought Turpin's building May 22,1940 Julian Tye's $1,800 and R.F. Bell's $1,500 on Park Row; H.M. Loyd's $2,900 on Oglethorpe June 14,1940 P.H. Parker's, 120 W. Church, remodeled after fire, by A.L. Holloway July 24,1940 Frank Stapleton to build brick home on Meadowbrook, between Davenport and Magnolia Aug. 9,1940 Sam Merritt to construct $5,000 brick veneer on W. Dodson, Geo. McGarrah, contractor; Wallace Sheffield's frame, ranch-style, Macon Hwy. outside city limits, Horne Lumber and Coal Co., contractor Aug. 20,1940 "Construction of new home on Oak Avenue has been started by Melvin Brown...will be five-room frame house. D.M. Still, contractor." Sept 30,1940 photo of T-R Bldg. on Windsor Ave. (razed Mar. 1964) Nov. 19,1940 "business building is being erected on West Forsyth ...block between Cotton...and Hampton...one-story brick...33 by 68 feet...by W.E. Mitchell adjoining ...building occupied by F.H. Turpin Jr., Dodge and Plymouth dealer, on...north side...will be occupied ...by...Keenan Auto Parts" Dec. 3,1940 Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co., 206 W. Lamar, "for- merly...Southern Bell...business offices, has been completely remodeled and redecorated"; Sears-Roebuck opening, 209,211,213 W. Forsyth, "Extensive remodel- ing and redecorating work...has been completed" Dec. 11,1940 "Keenan Auto Parts...moving into its new building"; "Peacock's Garage is expanding...will be completed within two weeks", Roy Peacock, owner Dec. 13,1940 Cliff Carswell's Americus Drug Store opened, "first of...new year...will be remodeled...with...modern front constructed...large neon Rexall sign has been erected in front", NW corner Jackson and Lamar Feb. 4,1941 Shiver building $4,000 semi-frame duplex on Gless- ner, also frame on Spring Feb. 6,1941 TCN - Shiver Lumber Co., contractor, 2-apartment, brick veneer on Glessner, frame on Spring Feb. 27,1941 TCN - Milton Mize began, corner Dodson and Hancock, $4,000 brick, 1 1/2-story; Bill Hurst's frame, north side Felder, between Furlow and Harris, $3,000 Mar. 10,1941 Melvin Tye completing $3,500 frame, corner Lafayette and Park Row; John Evans got permit for $800 frame, N. Lee; $1,000 remodeling of Herbert Hawkins' steam laundry damaged by fire Mar. 11,1941 B.H. Bell to begin frame, west side Elm, between Bivins and Glessner, Geo. McGarrah, contractor Apr. 2,1941 J.W.C. Horne to build $3,000 brick, W. Furlow, be- tween Jackson Ave. and Oak Apr. 7,1941 Americus Construction Co. building 2 $1,500 frames, east side Rees; Geo. McGarrah building $2,000 frame, north side Dodson, between Elm and Lee Apr. 9,1941 Washington St. began in Brooklyn Heights Apr. 17,1941 Martin Theatre construction began, McAchren, of Val- dosta, architect Apr. 23,1941 Christine and Kathleen Argo building $4,000 brick veneer duplex, south side E. Church, between Brown and Horne May 13,1941 Citizens Bank Bldg. getting elevator, D.M. Still and Son, contractor May 27,1941 "Early Postoffice Torn Down Here For New Theatre", 1-room, wooden building on N. Jackson June 6,1941 Charles B. King bought Granberry Bldg. from Miss Alice K. Wheatley (built by T.M. Furlow and J.J. Granberry in 1851) June 9,1941 "Work has been started on...erection of...brick building in...three hundred block of West Forsyth ...by W.E. Mitchell...on...south side...will be oc- cupied by...Jones Auto...Buick dealer...frontage of 75 feet...extend back 125 feet...being done by Tom King...to be completed about August 1. This is... third...brick building to be erected in this block by Mr. Mitchell during...past year or two...other two having been built on...opposite side" June 12,1941 TCN - W.E. Mitchell's, south side Forsyth extension, Tom King, negro contractor June 21,1941 L.T. White got permit to build $4,000 brick on Har- rold July 2,1941 Dr. T.E. Smith building 2-story frame on Wheatley July 23,1941 J.W.C. Horne building $4,000 brick, east side Horne; Dr. H.T. Adkins erecting $3,000 frame, west side Hancock, between Dodson and Glessner Aug. 5,1941 Frances Shiver building $1,000 frame on Elizabeth Aug. 19,1941 C.L. Keefer building $3,000 frame on Park Row; G.A. Tye, Jr. building 5-room $3,500 home on U.S. 19, just outside city limits Aug. 21,1941 Cecil Clay building $1,000 home on Forrest, D.M. Still, contractor Sept 17,1941 "Work is expected to start within...next two weeks on...construction of a new union bus station...lo- cated at...intersection of Dudley and Spring...on ...site of an abandoned service station...will be erected By Mrs. Mamie Dudley Henderson, who owns... property...building will be...of bricks...station is now located at...intersection of West Lamar and West Forsyth...about a block from...new station." Oct. 29,1941 photos of new Jones Auto Co. Bldg. and owner, H.P. (Phil) Jones, Sr., also entire staff Feb. 5,1942 TCN - Add Abbett's 6-room, corner Park Row and Washington, Geo. McGarrah, contractor (completed Apr. 1); Harry Shy's being built, in same neighbor- hood Feb. 12,1942 TCN - O.C. Law, Jr's. completed on Lafayette Mar. 5,1942 TCN - John Mauk's brick, east side Hancock, 66 x 220 ft., foundation of heart pine from old P.O. razed for Martin Theatre Mar. 12,1942 TCN - I.B. Small's, 28th Dist., burned Mar. 19,1942 TCN - William J. and John Graham's 2-story, 11-room brick veneer, being erected on 15-acre tract, on Oglethorpe, "opposite...estate of Mr. and Mrs. Tom Marshall", B.B. Kent, builder; Chas. A. Dupre's frame began on Oliver, D.M. Still, contractor (com- pleted by July 2) Apr. 2,1942 TCN - "old grandstand at...former city playground has been torn down...surveying necessary to...ex- tension of Barlow...through to Dodson...has been done...city then acquired...property as a playground and...house was torn down" Apr. 16,1942 TCN - State Rep. Julian Suggs building 5-room frame, with native rock base, on Felder July 23,1942 TCN - Clyde Johnson's 5-room frame completed, north side Park Row Sept 16,1942 "Construction will be started...next few days on several...houses...by Americus Builders, Inc.... first...will be built on...west side of Barlow... Barlow street was extended...several months ago", Sept 17,1942 TCN - Americus Builders Inc. to begin house on Bar- low at old playground Oct. 6,1942 "foundations have been poured for 10 new houses... Hill and Barlow", 9 on Barlow with 70ft front, 3 on Hill with 75 ft front Oct. 8,1942 TCN - Lloyd Kirby Carter bought 1017 Hancock, for $5,000, from R.S. Broadhurst Nov. 19,1942 TCN - $2,500 remodeling for Baptist Parsonage on Taylor, donated by Mrs. J.P. Cato, W.C. Turner, contractor Apr. 5,1945 TCN - "ELKS ACQUIRE L.G. COUNCIL PROPERTY ON EAST CHURCH STREET; CONSIDERATION $17,000; WILL OCCUPY BEFORE MAY FIRST" Aug. 29,1945 "Bell Motor Company, has been organized...by H.F. (Buddy) Bell and F.L. (Red) Bell...two brothers... local franchise for Studebaker...one-story brick building...5,000 square feet...will be erected... corner of Forsyth and Dudley...within...next few weeks" Sept 25,1945 "Work on...construction of another one-story busi- ness building on West Forsyth...will be started soon...by Milton Mize on...lot immediately east of ...structure now being built at...corner of Forsyth and Dudley...Bell Motor Company...of brick and will be approximately 73 by 115 feet" Oct. 11,1945 TCN - "Raymond McNeill, who opened his subdivision several years ago, just east of Rees park and reached through Post Way, turning east from Rees... built and sold three...dwellings; but was prevented from further developing...by World War II, has now begun construction of another dwelling...building others at an early date...of clapboard...extends through from Rees...to East Furlow...divided into approximately seventy lots...Angus...which is two blocks in length, is named for...late George Angus McNeill, father of...present owner. Rogers...is named for...great American humorist, Will Rogers, and Post Way for...famous flier who met his death with Will Rogers...name of...subdivision is Sunny Side."; R.S. Broadhurst to build 25 homes in Vir- ginia Heights, "constructed to suit buyer, of brick veneer, field rock or tile"; "Mr. and Mrs. Ray Ansley have recently purchased from Mrs. J. Lewis Ellis three lots in...newly surveyed area just west of...Ellis home and plan to build"; "Mr. and Mrs. Ed Gammage...will start immediately on...construc- tion of a six-room brick home on Hill...adjoining ...Mr. and Mrs. Brown McLendon."; "Carl Kobs has laid...foundation for a house on East Church...ad- joining Oak Grove cemetery."; "It is understood... Mrs. L.O. Gammage will build a home at an early date on...lot on Lee...between...home of Jap Pinks- ton and Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Rylander,Jr., which she recently purchased from Mrs. T.F. Mabry." Nov. 14,1945 R.S. Broadhurst to erect 2 5-room houses, 1 brick veneer other rock veneer, south side Glessner, near Harrold, B.B. Kent, contractor Feb. 14,1946 TCN - Charles B. King, developer, subdivision, 24 lots, 200 ft deep, 75 ft front, 16 on Crawford ex- tension, 8 on Oglethorpe, with plat map Apr. 16,1946 John Oxford started construction brick garage, south side W. Forsyth at rear of New York Cafe, Oxford Motor Co. with Kaiser-Frazier Sept. 1,1947 Grand opening of Americus Country Club, T.F. Lockwood, architect Mar. 30,1948 "Work on remodeling...store room on West Lamar... between...Vogue and...Royal Cafe, has been started. A partition is being built...making two rooms, which will be occupied...by Gatewood's Flower Shop and... Still Building Supply Co." July 16,1948 "mayor and council...voted to complete that part of ...city hall between...fire department and James Chevrolet...and build a new two-story city hall... to occupy all of...space between" May 31,1949 "Americus' new city hall was officially opened this morning" Nov. 14,1950 "DATE OF OLD HOUSE TRACED IN BRICK" Aug. 25,1951 "plans call for tearing down about 13 feet of...old garage...front to provide an entrance...to be open- ed on...south side between...new and old Sunday School buildings...old...building will become an assembly hall" for Presbyterian Church on Jackson Nov. 29,1951 Beers Construction Co., of Atlanta, contracted for "additional 50 colored unit houses in...100 project house group in north Americus, which is already un- derway...will begin...in...near future" Mar. 4,1952 "Work was started today on...remodeling...two-story brick...building...southeast corner of Forsyth and Jackson...four store rooms, fronting on Jackson... on...first floor...small one-story building between ...present two-story...and...alley next...Windsor ...will be razed and...two-story...extended to... alley...room at...corner...will have a corner en- trance, with show windows on both streets...second floor...converted into office space...B.B. Kent... contractor...work will require from four to five months" Mar. 31,1953 Tanner-Brice Co., of Vidalia, to build Piggly Wig- gly on east side Lee, north of Church (126 and 132 S. Lee, Mrs. R.C. Fetner and Mrs. Nellie Fulghum) July 13,1955 "Construction on...National Guard armory on Adder- ton...is expected to be completed within a few days"; R.S. DeLoach and J.W. Wells constructing about 20 houses in Sunset Heights, East Americus, "on both sides of...Macon Highway at...point where it is in- tersected by Oglethorpe...just completed several houses in...Glendale...and is planning on...more." Feb. 7,1958 Americus Production Credit Assn. to build $18,000 1-story, 35 x 70 ft, 107 S. Jackson, "Work will begin in...next ten days on tearing down...present building" July 11,1958 $50,000 Goodyear Service Store already completed, NW corner Hampton and Lamar; girl's dormitory, elec- tronics building, automotive building at Tech School ready by Sept.; "recently dedicated" Americus Masonic Temple, $90,000; First Baptist Church of Americus' $216,000 sanctuary to be completed mid-December; Ferd Cohen's $10,000 service station on N. Lee; Roy Parker's Heating and Air Conditioning Co. $6,000 on Tripp, opposite Manhattan, "under construction"; Mrs. Vern H. Cavendar's $12,000 medical offices, on Forsyth, near hospital, "under construction"; New Moon Homes and Gentsch Bedding Co. constructing plants, Felder industrial tract June 18,1959 J.W.C. Horne, Jr. building brick armory on S. Lee, $28,000 to $30,000, 4,800 square ft, finished by Aug. 1 Jan. 13,1960 T.F. Lockwood's rendering of remodeled Bank of Com- merce, "extensive remodeling and expansion program now under way...two-story building adjacent...has been razed...expected to be completed within thirty days...work is being done by...Americus Engineering and Construction Company." (grand opening 4-8-60) Apr. 7,1960 photo of 2-story, brick building, NE corner Cotton and Forsyth, razed for Bank of Commerce drive-ins Aug. 3,1960 Mrs. Marie Cantey's 10-room frame destroyed by fire, north McGarrah "near Tog Shop...built by the late Dr. J.T. Stukes"; "Hewitt residence on Bond...was in process of being moved from its old location across town to Hospital...today. O.A. Williams, owner of Plains Cotton Warehouse, recently purchased ...residence so...a peanut storage plant could be constructed...Ed Smith, of Montezuma, is in charge of...moving operations...house will continue to be used as a residence at its new location." Dec. 1,1960 "old bus station on...courthouse grounds is being remodeled to blend with...new...courthouse. Gray brick will be used to veneer...same as being used to construct...nearby patrol barracks" May 11,1961 photo of Mrs. Janie I. Beck's, 409 W. Lamar, with front missing due to right of way for urban renewal May 14,1961 photo of new Souther Field terminal July 25,1961 photo of groundbreaking ceremony for Americus and Sumter County Fair Assoc. building, on Friendship Rd., 9,000 square ft, $30,000 Sept 9,1962 formal dedication of Barnum Funeral Home at 217 Ashby St. Sept 20,1963 "LANDMARK FOR CENTURY HERE, HUDSON HOME BEING TORN DOWN" Mar. 28,1964 photo of T-R Bldg. being razed Oct. 6,1965 "Another landmark in downtown Americus soon will disappear...old residence on Hampton...just off La- mar has been sold...to...Rylander Ford...will be razed in...near future and...space used as a new and used car lot." (T. Wheatley home, SE corner La- mar and Hampton) Feb. 3,1969 "An Americus landmark was partially destroyed by fire...three-story house on...corner of Park Row and McGarrah...gutted...known as Old Speer home... A.A. Forrester was...present owner"